Feeling Accomplished, but Back to 0 Tomorrow

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit.” – George Sheehan

image

I feel like that excited little kid on the playground…I am jumping up and down yelling, “I did it! I did it!” My entire body hurts but I feel amazing. I beat that little voice inside my head that wanted to say, “F this!”

Did I make it easy for myself? I should have but I live in the hilliest area around I suspect. I felt like I was on a roller coaster and I wanted to get off. I brought my music with me. I used to run without it but it became my sanity on those crazy hills. I ran at night and I hate when people stick their bright lights in my face. I guess it is good for safety, but I felt blinded for a while.

My two favorite songs were: “ways to Go,” by Group love because it kept reminding me I had a little bit longer….but I like “Hold On,” by Drake…because he assures me I should hold on because I am going home.

If I could make up a song it would be about beer, back massages, and winning the lottery so I could run all the time.

So I am happy as a clam, but tomorrow is Monday…I am back at zero miles and so sore. I want to have a better marathon pr and hope to make Boston before I am a senior citizen (though I would still be happy to make it)!

I could use some advice as someone who is unable to afford massages, has no winning lottery tickets, and no alcohol at home….and no one to buy it for me. Lilly is away, but she isn’t old enough anyways. I guess I will stick with the motto: “No Pain No Gain?”

One thought on “Feeling Accomplished, but Back to 0 Tomorrow”

Leave a Reply

