Who Has Guts?

Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder:

“The marathon is a charismatic event. It has everything. It has drama. It has competition. It has camaraderie. It has heroism. Every jogger can’t dream of being an Olympic champion, but he can dream of finishing a marathon.”

Image

     Have you got what it takes?  Do you have the will, the time, the dedication to run 26.2 miles?

Well, my goal has been to do 40 miles of running a week.  I have been doing great, but a marathon is not a joke.  Anyone can go out and run a mile.  Some people can go out and run a 5k.  Then, you gradually work your way up to the longer distances.  I have done 32 half marathons, but I have only done 2 full marathons.  Why have I done only two full marathons?  Here is why:

Frank Shorter, 1972 Olympic marathon gold medalist:

“You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can’t know what’s coming.”

 

  I will never forget my first marathon in 2012.  It was April and I was in Gettysburg.  I had heard many good things about the full marathon and I had recently completed the Gettysburg half marathon in October.  That was fun!  There was an hour delay for the race and there was ice and snow everywhere….in Pennsylvania.  I finished in 1:45…and won a nice apple pie.  I couldn’t go wrong with the full marathon….ha ha ha !!!!!!

Rob de Castella, winner 1983 World Marathon Championships:

“If you feel bad at 10 miles, you’re in trouble. If you feel bad at 20 miles, you’re normal. If you don’t feel bad at 26 miles, you’re abnormal.”

It was so hot out that day.  I reached mile 20 and felt great…then it hit me…heat stroke.  I hate to get a little gross, but I was throwing up everywhere.  No one had ever told me what to do when you get all the way to mile 20 and you are vomiting.  I didn’t know what to do but I wanted to finish the race.  I walked for the rest of the race and finished in a whopping 4:50…I was disappointed.  I never wanted to run again.  However, I would not let myself give up.  I made myself go back and run the same course the following year to get over it.  My time was 4:20…not the greatest, but a lot better than before.  Being from New York State, I was not happy with the heat.  Image

 

  If you are a runner, I dare you to run a marathon!  You need to have the right state of mind, but no matter how much I remember being in pain from finishing, at least I ran.  There is nothing better than saying you just ran 26.2 miles. 

 

    I am on my way and hopefully some day I will qualify for Boston.  Just remember to eat right, have fun, and be smart.  Do not under train and do not over train!  Trust me, it doesn’t work if you do not do it right.  This week I am at 16 miles, but I feel great and I am not overdoing it!

Leave a Reply

