Fantastic Friday

“If you don’t have answers to your problems after a four-hour run, you ain’t getting them.”
― Christopher McDougall, Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen
tags: meditation…
image

It is finally Friday and I miss the sun. When will spring finally get here for us folk on the lake? I have been trucking along on the treadmill and today I feel fantastic…surprisingly. I hate the dreadmill but girl gotta work in the 40 miles somehow…

So today is confession Friday. I am at mile 18 of running and I am not sure I will make it to 40. I have my baby girl all weekend and that is a lot of time to be away from her. We will see. I also have to drive her away when I am on the treadmill because she wants to run too…That is all I need. I don’t want my three year old flying off the treadmill into the wall. Talk about a serious heart attack!

So I have a big confession. I have been trying to build confidence so there is this contest. “Win a date with a local celebrity.” Well I tried out for it and I won! I am giving up my solo run Tuesday for a date with a bachelor. Call me crazy, but I am completely excited. He gets to have five dates in five nights and the radio listeners get to pick the girl they find most compatible.

Here is the link: http://www.93q.com/common/page.php?pt=5+Dates+in+5+Days&id=1254&is_corp=0

I am a bit nervous so if you have any words of advice please let me know! I will be myself and I have no idea what to wear. There will be a guy there to “chaperone” our date and I just hope the bachelor doesn’t run out the door. Here is the letter I wrote to him…

Dear Ted and Amy,

My name is Beth Squire and I am a 33 year old school teacher in the Syracuse City School District. I have lived in upstate NY my entire life and my parents live in northern Maine. I teach first grade English As a Second Language and have loved working with children for more than ten years. I enjoy traveling and have been to more than thirteen countries through volunteer work and vacation. I studied French for fourteen years, but I speak Spanish, German and a little Italian. Outside of work I enjoy running and road biking. I have been in over 30 half marathons and 2 full marathons. I started running to stay in shape and help out charities, but I was hooked on racing and haven’t stopped since. I enjoy fishing and hiking and have visited some of the high peaks. I used to go camping every summer growing up to Cranberry Lake and was a camp counselor for two summers. I love making fires and toasting grilled cheese in the woods! I would love
to hike the Appalachian Trail, but I do not have enough free time to do the entire trail.

I recently started blogging about running and traveling because I have always wanted to be a writer. I like to read books but I read too fast and hate the endings. Someday, I hope to write my own book but I never have enough time. I confess I have been divorced for over a year, but I have the most amazing three year old named Lilly. She is a true inspiration for me and I hope that I am a positive role model for her and my students. Besides writing a book, I hope to run in the Boston Marathon and I always joke that if I don’t qualify, I will hopefully be able to run it in the 70-75 age category. I also want to run a marathon on every continent.

It is hard for me to come up with dislikes. I often laugh because my family lives in Maine and I do not eat a lot of seafood. I was really sick from it and shellfish doesn’t seem to like me. However, I always said my last meal would be shrimp because I love it and I can’t eat it. I love Mexican food, but am up for any cultural dish. I could never be a vegetarian and maple sugar candy is my weakness. I love animals and recently adopted two cats. I named them Sunni and Penelope, but Lilly insists they are Rocky and Scaly, I love the outdoors so much I avoid the gym at all cost. I spend so much time at work inside that I get outdoors whenever I can. I am pretty sure I even have frost bite because I went running when the wind-chill was below zero.

My parents met on a blind date, were engaged after two weeks, and have been married for 36 years. I am hoping to meet someone who can be real. I want someone who is down to earth and up for an occasional adventure. My goal in life is to find someone who can love me for who I am and I want to fall in love with my best friend!

Sincerely,
Ms. Simplicity

image

image

One thought on “Fantastic Friday”

Leave a Reply

