5AM What???

“Every serious marathoner should do Boston, to experience the close to a million spectators, the three generations of families out cheering, the little kids handing you water or orange slices. The whole city really appreciates the runners.”
-Neil Weygandt

5am

It is of no surprise that I want to qualify for Boston. I am glad I did not pursue it last year, but the drive to make it still exists. I have done 32 half marathons but only 2 full marathons. It should seem like an easy thing to do…I have great half marathon times, but I just can’t seem to get through the full marathon without hating myself.

I have been in the Boston Half Marathon for the B.A.A….but it is not the same. I need a 3:30 time to make Boston…I hate it!!! My other dilemma is not a bad one, but I need to work on it. I was asked to be a marathon pacer. What is a marathon pacer? Good question. A marathon pacer runs and motivates you to keep your ass going. You have to be good at pacing and there is usually a limit. The company I want to run with has a 30 second limit. That is crazy. That means if I pace you for 2 hours in a half marathon and I finish in 2 hours and 31 seconds of 1 hour and 59 minutes, I didn’t do my job. I love the challenge. However, I have to submit three full marathon times and I only have one for 2013. Oops…I looked at my schedule because my resolution was to do 18 half marathons this year. I don’t know where I will fit in the full marathon.

When to listen? I ran a lot on Sunday. I felt great. I have been trying to get back up to my 40 miles of running a week. At some point I will have to up it to 45. However, this winter has sucked and the temperature is killing me. I was really sick at the end of the week and I did a race Saturday. I went out to run on Sunday, but I have to admit my lung felt like it was on fire and then I wanted to quit. So I ran 13.2 miles. I felt great. However, I went to work yesterday and I sounded awful. I sounded like I was all stuffy and I got really dizzy and almost threw up in the middle of teaching. I am starting to wonder if it is just a lot on my body? I am hoping it is just that I was sick last week, but I do not know. We will see what happens but I am not ready to give up.

5AM what? Today I got up at 5 to start my morning running. I figure I need all the time I can get and I actually feel more awake today. I am hoping for better temperatures. Pleassssssse

3 thoughts on “5AM What???”

  1. Early mornings are great and I love the feeling of accomplishment- getting lots done!! Good job!! It’s apparent you are a very hard worker so you CAN qualify for Boston!! Keep your head up and your feet hitting the ground! You got it! 🙂

      1. That’s great! I’m with ya! 5 am swim done, but have a run later! It feels good to accomplish so much though! You’re awesome- you’re a very hard worker! 🙂

Leave a Reply

