Out Of Time

“Running was one of the
delights of my early days …”

~Louisa May Alcott

orchard house

This is a picture of Orchard House. I have been wanting to go to Concord, Massachusetts to see Orchard House for quite some time now. I grew up reading books by Louisa May Alcott. She wrote several stories and was definitely a modern woman with a sense of adventure. She was out of time. She died at the age of 39. I am also named after “Beth,” from the story “Little Women.” Of course, Beth dies when she is young but I have grown to like the name. Louisa did have a sister named Elizabeth, who died at a young age from Scarlett Fever. She played piano and enjoyed volunteering, much like myself.

I learned that that Louisa enjoyed running. She ran all the time. I thought that was neat since I never heard of women running around back in the early 1800’s. I also learned Henry David Thoreau and Ralph Waldo Emerson were family friends. They are two of my favorite poets. I thought that was pretty cool.

I also learned Louisa’s sister was more than just amazing at painting. She Abigail May Alcott had paintings all over Paris and taught sculpting a Orchard House. One of her students (Daniel Chester French) went on to sculpt the Lincoln Memorial.

I am writing to ask for a favor. I loved visiting Orchard House and I would love to take my daughter there when she is old enough to appreciate the house. I believe Alcott was a great author and a role model for women. The house is in need of repair and there are really neat programs they offer. How can you help? There is a race there every year in honor of Louisa. The funds go towards helping out Orchard House. I hope to attend this year.

The 9th Annual 5k/10k Run and 5k Walk for Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House. The run is on September 14, 2014. Here is the website: http://www.louisamayalcott.org/

3 thoughts on “Out Of Time”

Leave a Reply

