I’m a Maine-iac

“He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.”
-Muhammad Ali
feb17th

I met Muhammad Ali when I was living in Europe. Out of all the places to run into him, I ran into him in Paris, France. I had to do a double take because I could not believe it. I don’t know if I have told many people that. I found this quote by him and I could not agree more.

Today I got the week rolling with a 6.7 mile run in 59 minutes. I would have ran longer but the windchill is -4 today. Yesterday I ran 2.5 miles in -3 weather. I don’t like running when it is this cold and my face gets really cold. Today my tongue of all things was starting to feel frozen ha ha. If I don’t take risks and run, then I will never reach new heights. The cold only gets to me if I think about it. I ran faster and farther today because I was determined to do well. I am extremely honored to be given a pacing position so I want to do well and I need to get into the “swing” of things. So I need to do work…feel the burn. I am going to keep enjoying the half-moon cookies my mom made, but when I get home it is all business.

You must be laughing at me talking about weight. I have gained about 9 pounds. I am at 121, which is a great weight. I was hoping to stay around this weight in hopes of meeting someone and just enjoying life, but I do not seem to be getting any attention. When I drop weight, I get self- conscious because people think I am either anorexic or there is something wrong with me. I eat…trust me I eat. However, I want to qualify for Boston and I need to stop eating the really naughty food and get more protein. If I do not eat a lot of protein then I think I will be prone to more stress fractures. My times have been awful this year and I know the weather has not helped. However, the excess of Christmas sweets that I have not given up right after Christmas has not helped. I am also prone to diabetes. I had gestational diabetes and I want to stay away from too much sugar. I used to get really dizzy running when I had a lot of sugar. I have to train my body to not need the sugar. Anyhow, I am not looking forward to dropping weight because I feel less attractive and I want to meet “Mr. Right.” I am going to go back down to 112. This seems to be my magic weight. I have averaged a 7 minute mile in my races and I have averaged a 7.5 minute pace in my half marathons. I have to work on getting that pace for my full marathon and I will be golden.

Love will just have to wait…or they will have to like me for who I am rather than the weight I happen to be at. You have to take risks and have determination to reach your goals.

february 17
Here is the Tundra. Maine is beautiful but it is sure windy!!!

In case you were wondering what all the hype is about my weight and why I am wondering. Here is an interesting comparison. I will show you the various stages of my running. It is really interesting.

2010 Here is a picture of me in 2010. This was taken when I weighed about 145 pounds and was just getting back into running. This is the Lake Placid Half Marathon.

121 Here is a picture of me in December of 2013 at the weight of 121.

Here is a picture in October when I was about 117:
116

Here is a scary picture of me when I was about 112: Run away boys.
2013
113

We will see. I like Sam Adams and IPA a lot. I am also addicted to Taco Bell and Pizza.

2 thoughts on “I’m a Maine-iac”

Leave a Reply

