Winter In Maine

ImageImageImageMaine  is a joy in the summer. But the soul of Maine is more apparent in the  winter.”   –Paul  Theroux

I  had to live this long, have the experiences I’ve had, to create what I do. I  knew I wanted to write for years, but I had to be ready so I wouldn’t blow it.  The move to Maine was the final step.

 
     I have been wanting to write for ages.  When I started running here, I found out how peaceful it can be.  I know why Steven King and other famous authors and stars move to Maine.  If you check out this website, you would be surprised at how many people live in Maine.  http://www.meliving.com/famousmainers/  I was excited to learn Henry Wadsworth Longfellow was born in Maine.
 
     One of my favorite Presidents: Teddy Roosevelt, used to visit Island Falls every year.  George Bush has a house in Maine.  Ladies, let’s not forget Patrick Dempsey was born in Lewiston, Maine.  My daughter, Lilly, was born in Maine.  Maybe she will be a famous author or runner someday. 
 

      You don’t run against a bloody stop watch, do you hear?  A runner runs against himself, against the best that’s in him.  Not against a dead thing of wheels and pulleys.  That’s the way to be great, running against yourself.  Against all the rotten mess in the world.  Against God, if you’re good enough.  ~Bill Persons
 
     Today was my recovery run and I decided to take a new path.  The weather was nice and It was a heat wave of about 40.  I decided to go up Chandler Road.  I have been on this road before, but I truly appreciated the beauty it had to offer in the Winter.  I have been here in Summer, but it was not the same.

     Today is my fifth day running in a row.  This week, I am up to 30 miles already.  I looked back at the website and I am up to 201.9 miles of running this year.  I hope to break the 1000 mile mark.  I am planning a run tomorrow.  I am sad to have to drive home on Saturday.  It is 12 hours for me and I drive alone.  It is not easy.  I can spend the night, but I want to get home.  It is snowing outside now too so I do not want to hit bad weather on the way home.  I already had my car stuck in the driveway.

 

Upcoming races:

 

March 8- Tipp Hill Shamrock 4 mile run Syracuse, NY

March 9- The Oceans Run 1/2 Marathon South Kingstown, RI

March 15- Run For Dennis 5k  Oswego, NY

March 22- Sleepy Hollow 1/2 Marathon Sleepy Hollow, NY

March 23- Syracuse 1/2 Marathon

 

April 5- Race The Runways 1/2 Marathon  Brunswick, Maine

April 6- Ithaca Skunk Cabbage Classic 1/2 Marathon  Ithaca, NY

April 19- Flannery’s Pub Half Marathon Mercersburg, PA

April 20???

April 26- Duathlon Rochester, NY

April 27- Flower City Half Marathon  Rochester, NY

 

May 3-?

May 4- The Greater Binghamton Bridge Half Marathon  Binghamton, NY

May 11- Socci Stilletto Stampede 5k  Liverpool, NY

May 17- MACS Half Marahon- Freeland, Maryland

May 18- Historic Marine Corps Half Marathon- Fredricksburg, VA

May 31- Run For the Dream 8k Patriots Challenge   Williamsburg, VA

 

June 1- Run For the Dream Half Marathon  Williamsburg, VA

June 14-?  1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon  Philadelphia, PA

June 15- New Paltz Challenge 1/2 Marathon   New Paltz, NY

June 22- Ironman 70.3 Syracuse Relay runner 1/2 Marathon  Jamesville, NY

June 28-? 50 Yard Finish  Buffalo, NY 1/2 Marathon

June 29- ? Cattamount Half Marathon- Brattleboro, VT

 

July 12-

July 13- Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon Portland, Maine  (Pacer)

 

August 9- ? Monadnock Half Marathon   Jaffrey, NH

August 10? Columbus Half Marathon   Columbus, OH

August 24- ?Black Bear Half Marathon- Waterville Valley, NY

August 25- Turningstone Half MArathon  Verona, NY

Leave a Reply

