Good Bye Maine…It Has Been Nice Running Here…

Each morning sees some task begun, each evening sees it close; Something attempted, something done, has earned a night’s repose.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

bridge

Today, I ran 4.6 miles on trails, hills, and even in sleet. I woke up to my toddler, who was demanding chocolate milk and bananas. I don’t know if it was the monkey pajamas or the will to have chocolate, but I was ready for a big glass of coffee. I think that my long run of 10 miles earlier this week turned me into jello. I was not ready to run today. I went to Tim Horton’s (Timmy Hoes) today. I had a nice cinnamon bun latte with skim milk and sugar. “Gurl gotta have sum sugar if she gonna run!” I still was not ready to run so I watched some of the Olympics. I watched ice skating yesterday and it leaves me frustrated. I cannot stand to watch all of the skaters tumble on the ice. I also hate how it looks like gymnastics. I feel that it is nicer to watch the skaters who actually perform. I am not one to judge, but I felt more involved in the South Korean skater’s program than the Russian girl’s program. They both skated well, but I felt like the Russian girl was more of a gymnast and the South Korean girl was an artist. Oh well. It is over…I can barely do a single jump on the ice so I would be happy to make it to the Olympics at all. Maybe I can try out and be one of those girls who picks up flowers on the ice. I hear that is fun. I could be like Lo Lo Jones and switch to bobsled. That seems like a fun sport. I would love to try it.

Back to running. I am sad to be leaving tomorrow but I never know what the weather will be like and it takes me 12 hours to drive home. I am going to shoot for home tomorrow, but we will see. I do not have any idea what the weather will be like in Syracuse. We shall see. I am hoping to get to mile 40 before I leave tomorrow, but it depends on the time and the weather. I need to do 5.4 miles to get there and I would like to make it happen before my 12 hour drive. ZZZ

This has been a great vacation. I liked the quiet roads. I thought it was funny that I was asked by a lady if I needed a ride. I guess there are not a lot of runners out here. There was also a freak white-out today. I felt like I was being hit with pieces of glass. It was not pleasant and I diverted to the house. I did take some great pictures but I confess I have not seen a live moose since 2010. That is just crazy. I think they are all dead and in someone’s freezer. I give up. I saw a giant fisher and a fox once. The fisher look really nasty. I do not think I will take one home as a pet. It truly is a nice place to visit.

I am a little bummed I am not going to be around for the world championship biathlon for juniors. I want to watch the biathlon. It sounds like a cool sport and it is a nice place to have the championships. Maybe some other year. I have also never biked here and I think there is a race of some sort. I will have to look into it.

I will be back in Maine on April 5, 2014 if the weather is alright. I am supposed to run the “Race The Runways” half marathon. I need to get back into shape. I love Syracuse, but I am currently single and trying to get back into the sport and be a committed runner. It was a cheap race and the medal and shirt look amazing. I figure it is a great way to have fun and get out and just “live.” I want to go to bed at the end of the day, knowing I lived today to the fullest.

bridge2

Perseverance is a great element of success. If you only knock long enough and loud enough at the gate, you are sure to wake up somebody.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

2 thoughts on “Good Bye Maine…It Has Been Nice Running Here…”

Leave a Reply

