41.7 Miles of Love

“People sometimes sneer at those who run every day, claiming they’ll go to any length to live longer. But don’t think that’s the reason most people run. Most runners run not because they want to live longer, but because they want to live life to the fullest. If you’re going to while away the years, it’s far better to live them with clear goals and fully alive then in a fog, and I believe running helps you to do that. Exerting yourself to the fullest within your individual limits: that’s the essence of running, and a metaphor for life — and for me, for writing as whole. I believe many runners would agree”
― Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running mill8mill6

They say a true love lasts a lifetime. Well, I thought I had that. I lost it. I have fallen back on my running and it has been a huge difference. I have stopped being so competitive and just learned to enjoy the moments. I love feeling the wind rush against me and the lack of sound. I enjoy getting lost in the moment, often not knowing where I am. This week I was astounded to find out I reached my 40 miles. I also added some extra. I was driving home from Maine and my daughter wanted to get out. We stopped at the Head Light in Portland, Maine.
mill2mill4

It was absolutely beautiful. I hadn’t been there in a long time. I think I went there in 2012. I remember it being really hot, but I don’t think I saw the fort. It was really cool, but Lilly was cold so we did not go exploring. I have to confess I had a really hard time coming back there. The last time I went, I was not alone. I could not help but reminisce…and I would be lying if I said I did not cry. That was a great trip. We had a great time…In the end, I was worth more than a text message. Eventually, I will forget and get over it. I have never fallen so hard in love before. I can only hope someday, someone will sweep me off my feet and forgive me for being such a miser. It is hard to be treated like shit and move on. I am going back to Portland to pace for the race in July. I hope I can do it.

She asked me if we could go swimming…outside. Children are so cute and innocent. I had to laugh. I later surprised her with a trip to a hotel with an indoor pool. I figured that was an excellent compromise. She graciously agreed. We went swimming. I put it on my Strava account.

Today, we continued our journey home from Boston, Massachusetts. During the drive, Lilly asked me if we could go for a job. I thought about it for a minute. It was sunny and 42 outside. Why the hell not!!! When we arrived back home around 3, I grabbed the jogger and some extra clothes for the playground. We went off on our voyage to Mill Run Park. It is quiet there and about 1.5 miles from my apartment. Lilly is a bit of a drill sergeant. I know who she gets it from…my dad!!! While I am jogging with her, all I can think about is how big she is getting and how she will not possibly fit in the jogger next year. She is shouting, “Faster Mommy!!!!!!” I did not know I was a rickshaw driver. I should have gotten a tip.

I have to go back to work tomorrow, but I am already plotting my weekly mileage. I need some new shoes as well. I confess my old ones are looking a little shady. I am starting to wonder if the lady asked me for a ride the other day because I looked just that bad.

Next week, I am going to work on hills and speed. I hope I get ready for my exciting races coming up. I cannot wait. If there is one thing I have learned, it is just to be full of life and to live. I hope I continue on this refreshing path and maybe convince other people it is alright to be spontaneous. I had a great time going to Concord, Massachusetts this week. I also enjoyed my diverge to Portland, Maine. There is just something about driving by the ocean and taking in the fresh air. Something in the air tells me that I will be alright and I am doing things right…

mill run

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” -Helen Keller

One thought on “41.7 Miles of Love”

  1. I LOVE this because yes, it’s great to run races and such, but running in general is a beautiful act- being surrounded by nature and feeling your body move and overcome obstacles you never thought you could overcome!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

