“Below Zero…and Double Booked”

“They say a good love is one that sits you down, gives you a drink of water, and pats you on top of the head. But I say a good love is one that casts you into the wind, sets you ablaze, makes you burn through the skies and ignite the night like a phoenix; the kind that cuts you loose like a wildfire and you can’t stop running simply because you keep on burning everything that you touch! I say that’s a good love; one that burns and flies, and you run with it!”
― C. JoyBell C.

feb281

This jogger is going to collect dust!!!!

That moment you get up in the morning and see the sun shining is bliss…but bliss can quickly turn to disgust around Manlius these days. I woke up today to a windchill of -14!!!!!! What the heck? I have started to dream about running outside in the Spring and sweating to just get the idea in my head that it is possible to run outside in this. I was wrong. I have racing season coming up and I cannot get sick. Therefore, you know what this means.

feb282

This week, I have had a low of nine miles so far. Today is Friday and I have to work tomorrow morning. I do not see it getting much warmer outside so I have to face the dreadmill. It will be hard. I have a funny story for you. Here it goes:

I was on the dreadmill today. I sometimes get lost in the run and the music. I was listening to Drake’s song, “We’re Going Home.” I get caught up in the beat. Well, I was doing intervals. I had a mile of 8:45, then I jogged, then I ran at a 7:03 minute pace…etc…so I get ready to switch it back up again and I slipped. I started to try to grab the side of the treadmill. I am saying, “Oh shit!” I end up off the treadmill…not falling but far from graceful. Well, I had been alone the entire time but wouldn’t you know it…there was a guy standing right behind me. He was cute, though married. He asked if I was alright so I let him know I was fine in complete embarrassment. Then he asked where the bathroom was. I let him know where it was in exchange for his promise of forgetting this ever happened. I guess you can tell when someone is a long distance runner because they are completely klutzy on the dreadmill. Huff Huff!

On to more important things…”Double Booked”

feb28

I have been looking up medal hangers and decided to go with my usual style. I was hoping for 18 hooks, but there was only one for 15. My goal this year is 18 half marathons. I better not win anything else because it is already coming out my ears. I figured buying a hanger was a good way to make me reach my goals…but as you can see, I have a lack of space. I guess there could be worse things. Soooo…

I have been working on my racing schedule. I use the website http://www.halfmarathons.net
and I really like the website. So I mapped out my races and registered for a bunch. I am sad now. I do not so much mind that I will out some race money because it is for a good cause, but the MACS Half Marathon in Freeland, Maryland, was switched to May 18, 2014. I am already running the Historic Marine Corps Half Marathon in Fredricksburg, Virginia. I am so excited about this race too!

If you are able to run the MACS Half Marathon it is for a good cause. The race is run as a benefit to raise money for the House of Ruth, a Baltimore-based shelter for women who have been victims of domestic violence. Since its founding back in 1977, the center has helped thousands of women and their children reclaim their lives by providing a safe haven from abuse, and today provides a range of programs for women recovering from domestic violence as well as advocating for women who face such abuse.

Here is my upcoming race schedule….I have been muy muy busy: (I am hoping this helps me remember all of my races too)
2014 Goal- 18 Half Marathons (So I make it to 50 half marathons) I do not count full marathons
March 8- Tipp Hill Shamrock Run – Syracuse, NY (4 miles)
1. March 9- The Ocean’s Run Half Marathon- South Kingston, Rhode Island
March 15- Run For Dennis- Oswego, NY (I still have the course record for girls)
2. March 22- Sleepy Hollow Half Marathon- Sleepy Hollow, NY (Excited)
3. March 23- Syracuse Half Marathon

4. April 5- Race the Runways Half Marathon- Brunswick, Maine
5. April 6- Ithaca Skunk Cabbage Classic- NY (The first time I broke 1:40 with a 1:39)
6. April 19- Flannery’s Pub Run Half Marathon- Mercersburg, PA
April 26- Rochester Flower City Duathlon- Rochester, NY (My first solo Duathlon)
7. April 27- Rochester Flower City Half Marathon- Rochester, NY

8. May 4- Greater Binghampton Bridge Half Marathon- Binghampton, NY
May 11- Stiletto Stampede 5k Liverpool, NY
9. May 17- St. Michael’s Running Festival Half Marathon- St. Michael’s, MD
10. May 18- Historic Marine Corps HAlf Marathon- Fredricksburg, VA
May 31- Run for the Dream 8k – Williamsburg, VA PAtriots Challenge

11.. June 1- Run for the Dream HAlf Marathon- Williamsburg, VA
12.. June 14- Half Sauer Half Kraut Half Marathon- Philadelphia, PA (Big German Festival)
13. June 15- New Paltz Half Marathon- New Paltz, NY
14. June 22- Ironman 70.3 Half Marathon leg of Relay team (Scared Hitless) Syracuse, NY
June 28-29 not sure yet

15. July 13- Old Port Shipyard Half Marathon- Portland, Maine (2:15 Half Marathon Pace Leader) Woo Hoo…I need to slow down and practice some of my runs…

So I am still missing 16-18 for my half marathons but I have a lot of ideas. I have some good fall marathons to look at and I am still considering Boston…I need to get some full marathons on the docket.

Before I leave you…it is confession Friday- I do not have much to confess. It was a pretty good week. I wish I could have had some good runs. I think that has made me a little lonely. I enjoy running and all of my free time. I like being independent. I just miss that feeling of having someone to come home to or to share my day with. Lilly is wonderful, but I don’t think she cares about me falling off the treadmill.

“Falling in love is like getting hit by a truck and yet not being mortally wounded. just sick to your stomach, high one minute, low the next. Starving hungry but unable to eat. hot, cold, forever horny, full of hope and enthusiasm, with momentary depressions that wipe you out.

It is also not being able to remove the smile from your face, loving life with a mad passionate intensity, and feeling ten years younger.

Love does not appear with any warning signs. You fall into it as if pushed from a high diving board. No time to think about what’s happening. It’s inevitable. An event you can’t control. A crazy, heart-stopping, roller-coaster ride that just has to take its course.”
― Jackie Collins, Lucky

a12

Leave a Reply

