#1 Chambersburg Half Marathon- Pennsylvania

ImageImageImageBilly Mills:

“The ultimate is not to win, but to reach within the depths of your capabilities and to compete against yourself to the greatest extent possible. When you do that, you have dignity. You have the pride. You can walk about with character and pride no matter in what place you happen to finish.”

Chambersburg Half Marathon #33 for my half marathon count and number one for the year…out of my New Years Resolution of 18 half marathons to make it to 50…

 

 

 

 

I left yesterday at 4:30 and made it to the hotel by about 8…I was excited.  I got to the hotel and the guy said that he had overbooked so I lucked out and ended up at a nicer hotel with breakfast…Life is good.

 

I got to the marathon at 7:15…It started at 8:30 but I always get there early because you just never ever know what you will run into…and I spent the night in Carlisle and then I drove to Chambersburg.

 

The people were really friendly and I had a great time.  There were four or five water stops…I lost count.  Registration will be for Saturday, March 7, 2015…Look online.  It was well run and a beautiful course.   I loved running by the cows ha ha ha….I know I earned my medal when I looked at the hills…they were serious!

I did not run hard because I have my second half marathon tomorrow…I needed to save a little energy for tomorrow.  I finished in 1:55 and was happy.  I talked to a few people before the race and at one point I had some side stitches…but I made it and had a chocolate milk and banana…yum yum…

 

I do not know if I placed in my age group, since I had to drive to Rhode Island.  If you decide to run the race they had plaques for the top finishers and medals for the age groups.  They did three deep for age groups in increments of 5 years. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “#1 Chambersburg Half Marathon- Pennsylvania”

Leave a Reply

