Ithaca Skunk Cabbage Classic Half Marathon…#38 / #6

“Pain is temporary.  Quitting lasts forever.”  Armstrong

ImageImage

Today’s motto:  I am going to die but at least I match!!!!!

I woke up extremely sore this morning and woke up during the night.  I think that the one mile sprint race did me in yesterday because I didn’t stretch ahead of time and I did not warm up…oops!

 

I usually have no problems with my quads, but today they are not happy with me.

ImageMy number was 883 and I was not feeling the orange…I think it is the same color every year.  I was glad to see they took the giant hill out of the course they gave us last year due to some road work.  I remember the hill not so fondly…however, my time sucked.  I finished in 1:55….my worst time on this course…but in my defense I never ran another race, or even two races on the same weekend.  I am stressed because I need to be able to have a full marathon time of at least 3:30…if not faster for my Boston Qualifier.  I am stressed I will never get there, but I know deep down in that if I dig, I will get there.  So I am not sure what to do. 

ImageThis is a map of where the course was.  I confess I am too lazy to upload my strava data for this race.  I did not want to go, but I am glad I did.  I have goals and I need to stick with it.  If I quit, I am teaching Lilly that it is okay to not reach goals.  I will survive because pain is temporary.  I already feel better after stretching, but I have to say the hills did not help today.  I think I actually wanted to cry…pathetic.

 

On this course, I also had another problem.  I love the water stops and there is a contest to give the best water stop a gift of money for their charity of choice.  There were only four water stops and I am trying to not run with water so I do not have the extra weight.  I am wondering if I should try carrying my own water again to avoid the crazy water stops that make me not want to keep running like today?  Also, I hate Gatorade and here is what happened.  I went to the first two water stops with no problem…the next water stop was around mile 7 I think or 8…I cannot remember.  It was not the one with the guys dressed as the presidents.  I voted that one as my favorite.  So this water stop featured beer, water, and Gatorade.  Well, when I got to the water stop, it seemed like they were pushing the beer.  I am not drinking.  I think serving beer during a half marathon is a bad idea.  I asked the lady for something else and it seemed like they all had Gatorade.  I tried to take the Gatorade so I could keep going and it was like I had to wrestle her for it…I love that people volunteer, but please do not try to get me to take beer and I need to keep running!!!!!  I don’t mean to sound bad, but I was really agitated because I think I wasted at least two minutes there. 

 

ImageI like the medal this year because it is different from the previous two years, but it is not my favorite.  I love the black and white ribbon and it is nice that Lilly will not break it because it is not glass.  However, I lovedddddd the skunk medals I received the previous two years.  It is definitely not as bad as the medal (from a race I will never name) that is a bottle opener.  I worked so hard at that race…I was sort of sad.  However, the race was only $20 and I should be happy to get a medal.  Pleassssse do not think I am complaining.  I think I am just exhausted today and I am a little bummed I am not out on the bike right now. 

 

Would I do this race again?  I am not sure…I have done this race for three years now and I think a lot of people do not know about it.  It is a little gem in the rough…rough course, but the downhill parts are quite nice.  I love the scenery and I actually respect the fact that you are not allowed to wear music.  I think and I don’t want to sound silly or cheesy, that it is nice to get inside your head and deal with the mental in the race.  When you do not have music, it has to come from within your soul.  I had to listen to my body and I was able to talk to people. 

 

      There were a lot of friendly people out there today and I usually do not converse, but I was hurting and I met a really nice girl who was only 25.  She is the mother of two and she just got into racing and she did it to lose weight.  I think a lot of people look at runners and just judge.  I used to be faster and because I do not wear a lot of clothes when I run, they assume I am still the girl to beat.  I wish it were true and I have given a couple of scares.  I have broken 1:40 and maybe I am fast sometimes.  However, what I wear does not make me fast.  It is the mental to have what it takes to win.  You have to want it enough that you will scream for it.  So I was talking to this girl and she was great.  She got into running and told me about how she broke the 2 hour mark. 

 

     I remember that day because it does not always happen on your first race.  It took me 4 half marathons to break the 2 hour mark.  I did Lake Placid twice.  The first time I did Placid, I finished in 2:04.  That was my first half marathon.  Then I did Schroon Lake and wanted to die.  I finished in 2:28.  Then I stayed away from the half marathons.  I went back and did Placid.  Why not?  I had two girls run with me.  I was under the two hour mark and this was after I had Lilly.  Ha ha I get to mile ten and I friggan black out.  I sat on the sidewalk and did not move for half an hour.  I am shocked people let me finish.  I finished in 2:11.  I did Schroon Lake and the same damn thing happened.  I get to mile 11 and boom I get all dizzy and almost black out.  I think it was the Gatorade.  When I went on to do Tromptown Half Marathon (on a Thursday night), I got side stitches and thought I would pass out.  I got something left in me and managed to finish in 1:59.  I remember starting with the earlier group of 2 hours or more and I was in the lead for most of it but had to lose it because I did not know where I was going.  Oops!!!!!!  This is why I hate Gatorade.  Ever since then I have never and I hope I am not jinxing myself, I have never finished in more than 1:59.  I think I just have the will to beat the clock now.

 

     So the moral of the story is that sometimes it is good to go out there and be reminded of the will and the long road it took to get this far in distance running.  I wonder if maybe that is all I need?  If you looked at me in a race, would you know I had lost over 50 pounds or would you look at me and think she is just a skinny bitch? 

 

     One last thing  because I cannot help myself…So on the other side of conversation.  I was running and the person was harmless, but I heard the funniest pick up line/flattery.  It was cute, but at mile two I need to be able to work on my breathing and not my laughing.  So these two guys run by and the one starts to say how beautiful the course is and how wonderful the race is.  Then he goes on to say his name and I am polite so I told him my name.  Well then he goes on about massages and how warm it is.  I am so nice, don’t get me wrong…and he was sweet, but I am dying.  So I say, “I just ran two races yesterday.  I am so so tired.  I am sorry I cannot talk.”  I mean, he asked me my name and I swear I said, “Bla.”  I am sure I did because I felt like my name was Bla.  So he keeps talking!!!!!!!  The guy said, “you are a beast.  Today you can be beauty.”  So the other guy says, “she is a beauty every day.”  I thought it was funny because the guy who said that wasn’t the guy flirting with me.  Ha ha ha ha…anyhow…guys….I do not know about other girls, but even if you are Christian Bale, I need to focus on my running.  I am sorry but I wasn’t interested anyways and it was very flattering…however, LET ME RUN!!!!!  If you want to pick up a girl, talk to her before the race.  You can talk to her after, but she will be so delirious, she won’t remember you.  I can’t speak for other girls, but I think it is a good rule of thumb. 

 

     The guy later came up to me after the race (I finished before him ha ha) and asked me how I did.  I think he did anyways because I don’t remember what he asked because I was delirious.  Then he asked me about getting a massage.  I do not do race massages.  I am one of those strange people who doesn’t like random people touching my back.  I also think it is nice to have a relationship in which the guy you are dating gives you a massage and you give one in return.  I think of massages as more of an intimate thing.  Also, I feel bad for the people giving smelly runners a massage.  I figure they would throw me off the table!!!!!!!

 

Happy Sunday…I am debating on the bike, but this has been relaxing!!!!! Also, please do not think I sound snotty!!!  I had a great time today.  I think I just need to find a different race.  Lake Placid is the only other race I have done three times.  I feel that after a while you need to change up things a bit.  Though I confess for being the third year in a row, I still didn’t know where the start line was but at least I was one of the few people who knew which direction to face!

 

5 thoughts on “Ithaca Skunk Cabbage Classic Half Marathon…#38 / #6”

Leave a Reply

