Marathon Madness

“The secret of being happy is accepting where you are in life and making the most out of everyday.” -unknown
apartment1

Do you believe things in life happen for a reason?
Things happen that make us stop and question our goals and our dedication?
This has been my week. I see that Spring has finally arrived here in Central New York. I wish I could enjoy it more but I decided to make the most of it.
apartment8

You might be thinking to yourself, “Lady, what is with those ridiculous glasses?”
Well here is the thing, my eyes are so sensitive right now. I am squinting just typing. I have on no make up and I usually don’t and I look like I am coming home from a night at the bar. I took this picture around ten this morning. I had to take Lilly to daycare.

apartment4
In fact, she even drove to daycare…just kidding but I thought this was adorable!
She actually had a bit of a meltdown before going to daycare. I had to change her dress and then her pants and then her socks. She totally did not match and I think I may have won “Mother of the Year.” They wondered why I was so late. They probably think I never work at daycare…the truth is, I have had some bad luck. I missed school for the stomach bug and I had to get a tumor checked out earlier in the year. Sure, I have taken some personal days, but I can’t remember the last time I have been home this much.
apartment6
So when Lilly was mad that I would not let her bring another toy, I had a hard time motivating myself to leave when she was having the “Post Terrible Two Toddler Tantrum” with the yard stick. It felt good when she hit me with it but I think it was worse when I sent her to time out and she cried. This is my last weekend with her before April vacation and I hate seeing her cry. However, I need to make sure I stick to the rules and I am sure daycare was happy to not see the entire collection of Minnie princess toys arrive today during story time…

a111

a1212

a111111

Alright so you have been patient. What is with the glasses and this lame data? I went from running 41 miles last week and here it is Thursday, and I am only at .4??? I did not even put cycling because that hasn’t happened this week.

I had some great times last week running. I had a great week in general. I went to my races Saturday and had a great time. I love Maine. It is so beautiful. Well, I woke up really sore on Sunday and figured it must be from the running. I felt fine after stretching but my side was a little sore. Well, I can confess I wanted to quit during the race, but I am not a quitter and pain is temporary. I met that girl who was inspirational and we ran for a while. I think that helped like you would not believe. I think I would still be running if I hadn’t met up with her and I still reached my half marathon goal of under two hours. I want to bump it down to 1:50, but I think right now I need to listen to my body. I also need to add in some long runs on my own and work on better training skills.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t scared right now. I want to qualify for Boston but I am nervous that I might have missed the boat. My times are getting slower and I am inevitably getting older. Maybe my body just can’t handle the speed it takes for Boston :-(….I need to find out.

Earlier this week, I wrote a post about being home sick. I went for that nice walk down to the creek. I haven’t been since. I would love to go, but I just do not have the energy. I am debating on trying a walk later, but I hate driving just to daycare. I am rather tired. I bit the bullet and went to the doctor’s office. It is only three tenth of a mile away from my apartment and I drove there. That says a lot about me being tired. I hate driving when I can walk or ride my bike.

So they did a strep test and I have strep throat. They said my pulse was really weak and my hands and feet are really cold and clammy. My side is really sore and my glands and tonsils are swollen. They thought I had mono but the test was negative. However, she hasn’t officially ruled it out yet. She sent me for some chest x rays and I hate waiting. I still do not know the results. I hate when you see the lady to get x rays and she asks you all these questions. She asked if the doctor was concerned about my ribs??? I am now concerned about my ribs because the friggan lady said something about it. Well, my blood work came back and I have a liver infection. I have a high amount of enzymes. I am not sure what all this means but it must be why I am in sloth mode. I have been laying down on the couch or in my bed non stop. I do not even want to eat. I feel bad because last night Lilly had macaroni and cheese tv dinner and Cheetos. I felt bad I made her breakfast this morning. I try to be a great mom, but I am exhausted.

So marathon madness??? Movie marathon madness is about all I get to do today. It is so nice out. I admit I wish I could be rescued and taken for a walk so I can actually walk and not feel like I am going to pass out. I am too afraid that will happen. I might try a little walk later…maybe to my car and back ha ha…I am sad it is the nicest day I have seen in forever…but I am happy because I know Spring is finally here and I will get to go out sooner than later (I hope). The doctor was a little hesitant to let me go. I told her it is my last weekend with Lilly for a while and I got all sappy when she pulled me from work. When you work on a team, you do not want to be the “man down.” I feel bad. I hope there is a substitute. She wanted to pull me longer but I am hoping I feel better by Monday!!!! She is worried about my oxygen and dehydration. She said if I am not better tomorrow I have to come in and get an iv…I am stubborn though…so we will see.

apartment2

apartment3

So I am making the most of this beautiful weather. I opened the windows and I can hear the creek I cannot visit…(Unless anyone is bored and wants to take me there)…I have my balcony door open and it feels amazing. I also realize how close the rod and gun club is up on the hills by my house. I wonder if they are shooting targets or cans???

lill

lilil

I decided that there is nothing to be unhappy about. Life is too short. Lilly’s birthday celebration is Saturday. It isn’t a big deal. I am just going to my sister’s house and we are going to cook out. Lilly has never been to a movie either. I am taking her to the movie theatres for the first time to see Rio 2…I am nervous, but she loves popcorn so that is my key to success. She does not watch a ton of television, so she likes to watch movies. I think we will be alright. I cannot believe she will be four. The pictures I posted were from her party last year. Can you tell I got the stomach bug that night? I must be jinxed.

age6 This is from her first trip to the beach. We went to Green Lakes. She was so little back then. I think she was only three months old and weighed 8 pounds. I always say I had a mini baby. She only weighed five pounds since she was born so early. I don’t think you could tell now. Life is too short so you have to enjoy all of the moments.

I am a little sad I am not outside running, but here is how I look at it. I cannot run right now so when I can get back to running you bet your ass I am going to enjoy it!!!! I know the same goes for biking (I cannot wait to get rid of the bike).

I made a decision. I am going to race the duathlon if I still can and the half marathon the day after. I am not giving up. I thought about it and was about ready to bail on the duathlon…but I am too strong!

If you do not hear from me again for a while it is because I went out for a walk and passed out in the sun…kidding…but I admit these are the moments when I hate being alone but I definitely appreciate the time I spend with people…I just got done saying how quiet it has been and now I am out of work for the week…I think this has taught me to appreciate the silence sometimes. It can in fact be relaxing…do me a favor??? Stop reading my blog and go for a run. I want to hear all about it!!!!!!!! Please!!!! What makes you appreciate running or biking and why did you get into it??? What are your goals????

4 thoughts on “Marathon Madness”

  1. Awesome post and I’m reading your post after my run so…thank goodness the run IS done! šŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re learning that happiness comes from within and simple things like going for a walk can make you appreciate the love that’s in your life! You’re awesome! I love all of your sunglasses pictures!! They are super cute just like you!! Wow, duathlon and half marathon!! Go you!!

Leave a Reply

