“Pain Is Just Weakness Leaving the Body”

“Experience has taught me how important it is to just keep going, focusing on running fast and relaxed. Eventually pain passes and the flow returns. It’s part of racing.”
– Frank Shorter

Image Today is the first day in a long time I can honestly say I feel back to normal.  I do not know if it is  because we are going on Spring Break for my School District???  I just know that on April 6, 2014, I ran the Ithaca Skunk Cabbage Half Marathon and I thought I was going to die.  I think I had my life knocked out of me.  I went to work the next day and barely made it.  I ended up staying home and going to the doctor’s office for the first time in forever.  My doctor does not even work there anymore.  Oops!!!!!!!!!!!  So I was told I had strep throat and an infected liver.  I think I averaged three naps a day and could barely walk out the door without falling asleep.  My doctor pulled me from work until Monday.  She wanted to pull me this week but I am glad she did not.  I am an ESL teacher and we are administering the NYSESLAT to our students and I needed to be here.  I know I could have used a few more days, but I am glad to be back at work and I got a lot done before break.  I love the last day before vacation because everyone is happy and I confess there are a lot of fun activities going on.  I had to finish testing, but my students had an Easter Egg Hunt with first grade and another grade went on a field trip to Wonder Works at Destiny USA.  I have never been to Wonder Works but I know it is hands on and the kids love going there.  Our kids are going on break and will be back April 28, and back in the swing for the New York State Math Test.  I feel so sorry for these kids.  I feel like I test all the time once the month of April comes.  I tell all of the new ESL teacher, once April hits, our teaching is over and we test test test.  After the Math test is over, we have to give three parts of the NYSESLAT.  We administer a listening, reading, and writing section.  Then, the students have a Science Test.  I am glad there is no Social Studies test for Fifth grade, but rumor has it they are bringing it back.  I think that eventually the entire year will exclude teaching and just include test after test after test.  It is overwhelming for teachers and I cannot imagine how tiring it gets for the students.  During the ELA test I had three students fall asleep. 

ImageAfter being sick I am proud to confess I got up at 5:30 and went for a five mile run on Tuesday. I also biked 32 miles on Sunday.  I was a little weak and was going to run three miles but I felt the urge to run five when I heard the temperature was going to drop about thirty degrees  by the end of the day.

 

This Saturday, I will be kicking off my vacation in Pennsylvania at the 2nd Annual Flannery Pub Run Half Marathon.  I am sure a lot of eyes are wide at the idea of a “pub run.”  If that is the case I hope you run too and there are not a lot of races on Saturday.  However, I am being smart.  I just had a liver infection and  I think alcohol is not the smartest idea?????  Correct me if I am wrong friends.  I am hoping to get to Mercersburg on Friday to pick up my packet at the JAPH Banquet Room from 6-9.  I could not even tell you how long it is going to take me to get there.  I am just happy that it sounds warmer there than in Central New York. 

 

Here is some information if you are considering this race:

Flannery’s Pub Run Race Day Info

6:00am – 7:15am

Race Day Registration and Packet Pick-Up: GAHS Gymnasium

6:45am / 7am / 7:15am / 7:30am

Bus Transportation to Start
Transportation will be provided from Greencastle-Antrim HS (back parking lot) to the 1st United Methodist Church of Mercersburg (11 N. Fayette St. Mercersburg, PA 17236) (In 15 minute increments)

NOTE: We do NOT provide transportation back to Mercersburg after the race.

(Departure times: 6:45 am / 7 am / 7:15 am / 7:30 am) Those participants choosing to drive themselves to the start will NOT be provided transportation to retrieve their vehicle. Restrooms and shelter will be provided at the Methodist Church until the race start.

Drop Bags Those participants with personal belongings must provide their own drop/garment bag clearly marked with first and last name. Pub Run officials will transport all drop bags to the finish-line area for pick-up immediately after the race.

Water Stops and Support Each mile will be clearly marked with event sign. There will be 8 water stops located on the course.

8:00am

All runners should work themselves to the starting line which will be clearly marked, there will also be many volunteers able to direct runners to the appropriate area. At this time runners will pick up their chip. This also will be clear at the starting line as to where this area is.

8:30am

Start race

10:00am – ?

Finish

The runners will be directed into a runners finish area where there will be snacks, refreshments. Shuttles will be provided from the finish-line area to Greencastle-Antrim HS where bathroom and shower facilities will be available. Shuttles will run back and forth as needed.

11:30am

Awards Ceremony – In the John Allison Public House Banquet Room, free Coors Light, water available to all runners.

RACE EVENT OVER

1:00pm – 4:00pm

Greencastle Craft Beer Festival to benefit the G-A Chamber of Commerce. Sponsored by The John Allison Public House and Flannery’s.

 

It is currently $70 to register for the race so you should have already signed up but you can sign up still so that is a good thing.

 

After finishing the race, I am sure I will be exhausted.  I would be lying if I said I were feeling like I am going to kick a little ass this weekend.  I feel completely screwed but I want to have a good vacation.  I do not have Lilly at all and I am sad because I had to say good bye to her for the week this morning.  If I stay here and do  not run I will always regret not knowing what my body is capable of doing.  If I stay here I will feel like I have failed at something I never tried.  If I stay here I will just feel lonely…sure, I am happy being alone and I enjoy the solitude.  Sometimes quiet can be your best friend.  I was alone for almost a week so I need to get out. 

 

My goal for my 18 half marathons is still under two hours besides the Shipyard in Portland, Maine.  However, I am not going to try to kill myself in this half marathon because I haven’t had much time to run this week and could not run at all.  I will finish.  At least I will finish.  I am dreaming of the day when I finish and there is someone at the finish line waiting for me or there is someone running who finishes with me. 

 

Flannery Pub Run Half Marathon will be my 7th half marathon of the year in my series of Half Marathons and this will be ummmmm shoot…is this #39?????  I think so.  I am getting old ha ha ha ha….

 

After Flannery, my next races will be the weekend of April 26-27th.  I will be doing the Rochester Flower City Duathlon on Saturday at 7:30.  This will be a 5k run and a 20  mile bike ride, finishing with another 5k run.  That will hurt.

Sunday, there is a half marathon in Rochester.  If you get a chance, Fleet Feet in Rochester is having a chance for you to be a marrow donor for people with cancer.  You just need to have your cheek swabbed and paperwork filled out.  I am a little nervous about donating bone marrow…

:Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, vision cleared, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” – Helen Keller

 

 

One thought on ““Pain Is Just Weakness Leaving the Body””

Leave a Reply

