Greater Binghamton Bridge Run Half Marathon- In the books!!!! #9/41

“Running has never failed to give me great end results, and that’s why I keep coming back for more!”

ImageIf you told me I would finish this race yesterday, I would not have believed you.  I can honestly say that this has been a great challenge so far in my quest for at least 18 half marathons (and I am running 2 full marathons since I botched last years New Year’s Resolution).  Well, I was sick, but still I could have signed up for another one.  I knew this would be hard, but it is a constant battle every step of the way to get lost in the music and the excitement and forget about the miles put in.  Every step, every mile, every start, and every finish has made me proud of the person I am becoming along the way. 

ImageImage

Today was so much fun, though I almost had to drop out. The course was not very hilly and the bridges were fun to run over and under.  I liked the volunteers and the water stops were great.  I think that the police did a great job with the traffic.  I also liked that the volunteers were spread out so you did not run into anyone else running.  I loved the signs.  My favorite two were, “smile if you peed a little,” and “worst parade ever.”  I always love, “run like you stole something.”   I think spectators do a great job at making us smile and bringing humorous signs…and I do feel like Bessie the cow when I hear that bell. 

      I told you my shoes are highly worn out.  I have over 600 miles on them.  So today started off good, but by mile five, my foot was killing me.  I felt like someone was grabbing onto the back of my foot and putting a needle in it.  I think it is my Achilles tendon, but that has never bothered me before so I cannot be certain.  I do not know which is worse: Achilles tendon or stress fracture??  I will take none of the above final answer.

 

ImageMY shoessssss have to go into the garbage but I can’t do it…someone is going to have to do it for me.  These shoes have been in more than twelve half marathons and a bunch of other races…they are sentimental.

 

ImageImage

The orange shirt I had on in the first picture was from today’s race.  I heard it was bad luck to wear the shirt while running the race.  What do you think?  I like the shirt because it is bright so I can wear it at night and it is a tech shirt.  This race gets major bonus points though because they gave me an extra small!!!!!!!  So I do not have to wear it as pajamas.  If I ever have a serious relationship, I am going to have to do some serious pajama shopping because I do not currently own any pajamas.  I confess I wear race shirts all the time ha ha ha…hardcore or pathetic lol?

 

ImageImage

Halfway…last year I counted and I ran 9 half marathons the whole year.  I ran some 5ks and two 10ks.  This is my bling from my goal so far (but the plaque with the goat is not part of it).  I do not know what I won from the Flannery’s Pub Half Marathon yet.  I was second in my age group.  I noticed that it is funny how I love the half marathon but I do better in the shorter races.  I was 3rd overall in the trout 5k and 2nd overall in the one mile.  I am proud, but I love the half marathon even though I am not as strong as I used to be.  My best half finish is 1:37 minutes and my best place finish is 1:40 at the Run to the Sun Half Marathon.  I was third.  I like third place, though I have won 4 races…all when I was 31…I think…now I am slow ha ha. 

 

I still cannot believe I am halfway.  I am a little sad but I have some tough races coming up and I am scared of the Marine Corps Half Marathon because I heard a lot of talk about Hospital Hill???  I heard it is scary and what is it with giant hills at mile ten???  Yikes!  I had a lot of fun today and I hope to keep running as I get older and maybe Lilly will run too!!! 

 

I watched this video about a girl who danced over the finish line.  Today, I wanted to be that girl who smiled and who really showed how much running can be fun!  Running really is a great sport and it is good physically and mentally.  I did a split in the air at mile 12 and do not know if the photographer got the whole thing but he laughed and said, “do not fall now!!!”  The people were clapping ha ha ha so it made my day.  Then at the finish line, which was downhill, I threw my hands up in the air and shouted, “wooooo hoooooooo!”  I then did the long jump over the finish line because there was a lot of space and not enough time to dance.  I didn’t even care what my time was and maybe if I hadn’t done the split I would have broke 1:50 this race, but I did not care.  I have already done that.  Today was about the fun.  It was about not listening to that voice that wants to quit.  It was about showing people what running does to someone…and it was all about bringing in the finish for my 9th half this year and my 41st half marathon ever!!!!!!! 

 

I found the best recipe to share with my friends today!!!!!!!!!!   You will love this and I want to make it now!

ImageImage

 

ImagePeanut Butter Protein Bars….yummmmmmmmmmmy!

They are gluten free and no bake too!

 

Sooooooo 41 half marathons and 9 this year…in less than two months, here is my quote of the day:

“Between you and every goal that you wish to achieve, there is a series of obstacles, and the bigger the goal, the bigger the obstacles. Your decision to be, have and do something out of the ordinary entails facing difficulties and challenges that are out of the ordinary as well. Sometimes your greatest asset is simply your ability to stay with it longer than anyone else.”

~ Brian Tracy

 

 

I am a girl who could not run more than two miles by the time I was 26 and now look at me!  Never give up and never feel that something is impossible!!!!!!!!  If you are determined to succeed, nothing and I mean nothing, can get in your way!  Happy Sunday…

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Greater Binghamton Bridge Run Half Marathon- In the books!!!! #9/41”

  1. Oh wow, you’re amazing!! Congratulations on finishing even through the pain!! You’re phenomenal!! Great time, too and this race sounded like it was fun!! XOXO!

Leave a Reply

