Historic Marine Corps Half Marathon- half number11/43 Virginia

“If I am still standing at the end of a race, hit me with a board and knock me down because that means I did not run hard enough.”  Steve Jones.

ImageToday, I was that runner you should have hit with a board.  I do not know what happened.  I was running really awesome and then I hit mile ten and boom.  I think that the water stops are not helping.  I have this great pace and good breathing going on and then I stop for water.  I am not used to it because I used to carry the dreadful water belt.

 

Today’s race was the Historic Marine Corps Half Marathon and I was so excited.  I had to get up early and get there and I was so nervous.  The race is in Fredericksburg and I was so worried about parking but it is at Central Park and there was even a STARBUCKS!!!!!!!  Bonus!!!!

ImageMy number is 890, as shown to the left and I was given an extra small shirt that is rather nice.  However, I do not think it is small enough.  I am interested to know if there is a place to donate good tech shirts such as this one?  I will most likely hold onto it but the one I got yesterday is big as well.

ImageIt was really dark when I arrived at the start and I was sad to learn that Wegmans does not open until later in the day.  I had nooooooo coffee and I forgot to bring my wallet with me when I left the car because I wanted coffee in a major way.  I will have to come up with a solution for my next really early start race.  This race started at 7:00, but we had to line up at 6:30…there were about 6,000 people in the half and there were three thousand in the 5k and 3000 in the 10k.  I think there were enough bathrooms and the race was extremely organized.  It was like they were expecting a lot of people or something.  ha ha….

 

ImageHere is my map of the race course courtesy of Strava!

ImageHere is the elevation chart…it was nice until the infamous “Hospital Hill.”

ImageAccording to Strava and my garmin 910x the course was a little long.  When I looked at other data, it said 13.3…I think because you had to weave in and out of runners, it added to the distance.  I was all excited when my Strava App said 1:44 for mile 13…then I didn’t see the marker for another half mile ha ha ha….that sucked.  It is a big race so it is bound to happen.

ImageIf you look at my pace, I was doing really well until mile 10.  I think if I did this race again, I would not run St. Michael’s the day before.  Although, I felt like I had a lot of energy today despite running a half yesterday.  I think my body is just adjusting and getting used to the activity.  I actually am debating on going back out for more exercise.  I know it makes me crazy, but I feel great.  I can’t believe how great I feel given the fact that I just drove seven hours.  It makes me wish I had gone to my cousin Rachel’s house since she graduated from College and got accepted into a program in England.  I am so proud of her!!!!!!!!  She is into forensic science!

 

ImageThe medal is pretty amazing.  This might be one of my new favorites…though I do not have a favorite.  If you are wondering, the guy on the medal is Hugh Mercer.  He was a friend of George Washington and he was a physician and soldier.  He lived from 1722-1777.  He was a big symbol in the American Revolution…I find it interesting that he is Scottish too.  You can read more about him at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hugh_Mercer

 

I would love to share some of the pictures from the race because we went through historic Fredericksburg and I saw so many amazing places.  I liked the historic park and the buildings were beautiful.  I liked the flag at the end over the road that you had to run under.  However, I realized in all of my running today that I should be thankful for what I have.  Today I was inspired by a blind runner who was using the crank wheel I think it is called.  He had no legs and had to have another person wheel next to him and hold onto the wheels.  He must have been so scared on the down hill and he is so brave.  He is no doubt a soldier and I am proud of him and his accomplishment today.  Anything is possible if you put your heart into it….

This was a great race.  I would like to do this race again but only if I have someone to go with me.  I am getting tired of going alone.  Well and I already did this race.  I like exploring.  It was not expensive either.  I paid less for this race than St. Michael’s and the hotel I got here in Spottsylvania was cheaper than the one I got in Cambridge Maryland. 

 

With all of my traveling this weekend, my favorite songs of the weekend were by Calvin Harris and Justin Timberlake.

Summer:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebXbLfLACGM

 

Not a Bad Thing

http://www.youtube.com/user/justintimberlakeVEVO

Love Never Felt So Good:

 

 

 

Race Schedule:

May 30- Run for the Dream 8k  Wiliamsburg, VA

June 1- Run for the Dream Half Marathon Williamsburg, VA                 (Patriots Challenge)

June 14- 1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon  Philadelphia PA

June 15- New Paltz Challenge Half Marathon  New Paltz   NY

June 22- Ironman Syracuse Half Marathon Relay Team

June 29- Catamount Half Marathon    Brattleboro, VT

July 12- Jamestown Half Marathon   Rhode Island

July 13- Portland Old Shipyard Half Marathon Pacer  2:15

July 26- PA Grand CAnyon Half Marathon Wellsboro PA

July 26- PA Grand CAnyon Full Marathon   Rock the Canyon

August TBD

September 6- Bird In Hand Half Marathon   PA

October 5- Wineglass Full Marathon   Bath NY

October 26, Marine Corps Marathon

Leave a Reply

