St. Michael’s Running Festival- Maryland #10/42

Finland has produced so many brilliant distance runners because back home it costs $2.50 a gallon for gas.  ~Esa Tikkannen, 1979
ImageYesterday, I drove to St. Michael’s, Maryland.  It is a small island in Maryland and I had to make sure I knew how to get there because if I missed the road closure, I would miss the race.  There is only one road that leads into the town.  Otherwise, oops that would have been a long ride for nothing.

ImageNow, I knew I had a long drive and I had to take Lilly to daycare.  I wanted to make sure she had a little extra TLC with me because she was really sensitive this week.  I tried to get her to take a bath and she sat on the toilet and started to cry.  I asked her what was wrong.  She said, “mommy, I just miss you a lot.”  I wanted to cry because I love her so much and I miss her all the time too.  So we snuggled and I got her ready for school and we had some girl time.  I think I needed it too.  I have been having a really hard time leaving her this year.  she does not want to go and she always gets sappy and cries.  It breaks my heart.  Unless you have been in the situation, you have no idea what it is like.  Before I got out of my situation, I had only been away from her for two nights.  So I hate leaving her…In any case, it was national bike to work day but there was a downpour and the only biking was done in this photo above.  Yes, Elephante (French) was riding to work….I miss my bike and I cannot wait to sell it and get a new one.  That will be nice.

 

ImageSo today I got up at 4:30 in the morning because I knew it would be hard to find parking and I needed to scoot out of the race scene to find my car.  It was great and I had some Dunkin Donuts coffee and a bagel before the race.  I also had a “kind” bar, which was a good thing because there was one runner who was not so kind and I kept my mouth shut and let him enjoy his day…I will tell you about it in a second.  The lady at Dunkin Donuts was kind of sad because she did not know about the race and was working.  I hope I inspired her to do it next year.  She said she hated her half marathon and did not think she wanted to do another one.  This race also offers a 10k and a 5k.  I wish she had known.  I saw the look on her face.  She wanted to quit and come with me ha ha ha next year. 

 

The race I did was the half and the start time was 7:30.  However, I found out the 10k started at 7:30, which backed up our start to about 8:00 am.  I was not concerned but there were a lot of people and you were only encouraged to go up front if you would finish in an hour and fifteen minutes…ummmmmmmm not me.  So I think that when the start happened, I waited about two minutes before I crossed the chip line.  We heard the national anthem and I was surprised there was a prayer.  Then I was reminded that St. Michael’s is a very catholic place…hence the name ha ha ha.  It is a beautiful town. 

Here is the link to the course map:

http://www.stmichaelsrunningfestival.com/pdf/St%20Michaels%20Half%20Certification%20Course%20Map.pdf

The course description was flat and fast…and they are not kidding!!!!!!  I think there was a small speed bump in the road and that was the only elevation the entire way.  I do think you could qualify for New York City and other great races, but you must line up closer to the front.  I spent about two miles just shuffling back and forth and I think that is why my watch read 13.5 miles and not 13.1….it wasn’t because I wanted to add on to my distance.  I think I spent about half a mile on the sidewalks.  It is fine, but I think it was a little too crowded and people were just standing wherever…it was a big race and I completely understand.  I am also glad I did not run into the sign that said half marathon keep to the right and 10k keep to the left.  I was really close.

 

ImageI am really looking beat in this picture but I feel great.  This was a great course and I saved some energy for the Marine Corps Historic Half Marathon tomorrow.  I am excited for that, but I wish I could come back and just do this by itself so I can “kill it.”  Maybe next year…maybe not….

Image

I like their shirts and they are small…I wish they were a little smaller but it is not quite so bad ha ha….I like the color a lot!!!!!!!

The bibs were nice too!!!!!!

ImageHere is my strava drama….The map and my times for each mile…pretty easy and the elevation says 0 ha ha ha …..

ImageHere is the pace chart and I think it is funny…can you figure out where I went for water?????  The big lines that go up are the water stops…they had excellent water stops and more than one place to get some gel if you needed it.  I chose to not bring my shot blocks and I did not take any gel.  I think gel is gross.  I know a lot of people like it but noooo thank you!

ImageI love that there is no elevation and my calories are about 100 per mile, though I do not really care about calories.  I had a great time and smiled and thanked the volunteers. 

 

The medals were great.  I like the shiny ribbon and the blue is sparkly.  I think that this is a great race and I would love to do it again but I do not want to pay as much money next year.  I liked that the race raced about $50,000 for charity.  I liked that the head of the Boston Marathon was there.  He must be British????  He sounded like Simon Cowell on American Idol lol….

 

So the agitation….there was a male runner who decided to spit.  The spit hit the wind and hit me in the face.  Then he is clearing out his nasal passages with his fingers and all of the snot went on me.  I wanted to vomit and it was the most disgusting thing ever.  He did it so much that no one wanted to run near him.  We kept our distance and I do not think he even noticed.  Then, it gets worse.  He decides to stretch and flap his arms out but nearly hits a girl in the face…..rule number one…don’t be that runner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

I am trying to spice things up a little with my blog.  This was my tenth half of the season and my 42 half marathon.  I have been looking around and seeing a lot of things I want to warn runners about….new runners…the dos and don’ts…I think that I am going to do a race that is just for fun at some point and break allllllllllll of the rules….

 

Dos and donts…and superstition…did you know????

1.  It is bad luck to wear the race shirt in the actual race….

2.  Wearing a backpack of water is a really bad idea…

3.  Wearing brand new shoes for the first time is a bad idea.

4.  It is great that you want to match your friend, but make sure you practice in the clothing if you have never worn that particular brand.

5.  Make sure you hydrate properly.

6.  If you are vomiting before the race, you should probably reconsider the starting line.

7.  From experience too, if you get heat stroke and sick in the race, you will not regret dropping out. 

8.  Running backwards for the last mile is a good way to get hurt and not finish the half.

9.  Eating something for the first time before a race is most likely not a good idea.

10….I am sure there is one but I cannot think of it right now.

 

Oh I am glad I did not get beat by the guy jump roping the entire race…but I think he is nuts…

 

Tomorrow is my second half of the weekend and I feel really good today.  I hope it is fun and not overwhelming and that I get to leave after and maybe get home in time to bike.  I miss home…..

 

Confessionssssssss…….

This has all been a great experience and I am enjoying all of the places I would otherwise have never seen.  I like the places I go and I think this has given me more appreciation for the goodness throughout the USA…it makes me happy to see so many people hard at work helping out good causes.   I think this is absolutely want life is all about. 

 

However, I am getting to the stage in this journey where I am supposed to fall in love with myself…well I am feeling really confident and I feel like my body is in shape…but I need to be careful.  I hope and think that I am fine but I was all worried about my hair and what to do with it while running.  I think it was a jinx.  I finally asked for help about it.  Well, I do not know if it is just because I have been changing my diet or stress or straightening my hair, but I noticed my hair was thinning a lot.  I asked for help with it.  I stopped straightening my hair so I hope I look alright because I feel more attractive with straight hair…but the truth is my hair is really curly.  I am also taking biotin and doing some hair treatments…you know since I never get my hair cut and I have not had it dyed in who knows how long.  If you have any other ideas I would be greatly appreciated.  I hope I stop it because I would be really sad to lose my hair…..I think this is worse than when I had the infected liver.  I did not want to share this because I am nervous and want so badly to not be alone anymore…I do not look good in hats either.

 

So aside from my hair thinning, I am realizing how incredibly jealous I am of all of the people at the finish line…for other people.  I want so badly to have that feeling….It is funny because I have never been kissed on New Years and I cannot decide what is more important…I know there is a lot going on in the world and that makes me a little selfish but it is the list of to dossssss that has me so caught up.  I want to have someone there when I finish, just like I hope to find someone who I can be at the finish line for…I know that I love to race, but I also want to be there for someone else…to show him how proud I am…I have met so many people but I realize that if I am getting more confident, it is time to start thinking about what is next…if I run away all of the time and do not go out or make myself available, I will never have that experience of being with someone..and (no offense if you met someone on a dating website) I do not want to friggan meet someone on match.com or singles.com or another dating website and it is like facebook knows and sends all these suggestions and I want to tell Facebook to screw off!!!!!  In any case….I want to be kissed on New Years and I want to have someone at the finish line…

I am often asked about which races are my favorite…it is hard to choose one.  The Freeport Half Marathon was a great race because I got to see my parents and Lilly at the finish line.  Shannon watched Lilly while I ran at Turning Stone and I won 2nd.  I also placed at Freeport too.  I definitely do better….but I do not think I have found my absolute “favorite” yet.  When I do, I will let you know. 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “St. Michael’s Running Festival- Maryland #10/42”

Leave a Reply

