National Running “Addict” Day

It’s unnatural for people to run around the city streets unless they are thieves or victims.  It makes people nervous to see someone running.  I know that when I see someone running on my street, my instincts tell me to let the dog go after him.  ~Mike Royko

Today is national running day and I am excited to get out of work today and put in some miles.  I think running is a great sport and it has helped me through a lot of crap in life.  If you have a chance, go out and run…you might like it.  If you look at it as torture and you are in shape, you are doing it wrong!  Why do you run?  I often wonder why I didn’t run from the time I could walk.  I was really missing out.  When I was in high school I ran track and I was pathetically slow and did not do well.  I was a little chubby. 

 

car4

Now I have people telling me I am too skinny. I think running is funny because I do not get as hungry as I used to…except in the winter when it is so cold that I need to scarf down a lot of food to keep from freezing. I have to admit the one thing I hate about being single is I always wake up cold in the winter!!!! I need more blankets. I also do not dress up a lot so when I do people think I am too skinny. I have really bony shoulders. Trust me, I can eat. If I were not living alone most of the time, I would probably weigh more because I would be cooking for someone else ha ha…I also like healthy food. My favorite snacks are bananas with banana butter. I like hummus and pita chips. Yummy!!!! I also gave up drinking and I think that made me lose some weight!

I went through a crappy marriage and I know I have talked about it but running helped me escape and it gave me the power to stand up and leave. I know it was the hardest thing I have done in life and I do not regret my decision. It was a lot of work to keep my marriage going…but it was extremely hard and a long process to escape.

Running is both refreshing and exciting. I remember winning my first race and I will never forget that moment. I won a coffee mug, some socks, and a gift certificate to fleet feet. I felt amazing. That was where I met one of my friends, Nancy! Nancy is a great runner and she is faster than I am 🙂 !!!!

In honor of National Running Day, here is my information for running this year…I think I am going to break 1000 miles of running this year ha ha ha…
car5

car7

Here is my cycling mileage for this year…I need to bike more and my foot is still bothering me since Sunday so I have not ran in a couple of days. I want to bike more and I sold my road bike this year. I am excited that I will be (cross my fingers) getting my new road bike next Friday. I am going to have two half marathons next weekend, but I am hoping for a reason to not go to one of them and go biking…imagine that!!!!!! I would consider skipping a race to go biking????? Strange things happen!!!! Here is my bike I hope!

car3bike

car This is what my car looks like after a road trip!!!! It is a disaster. I need to clean it again. I did clean all of the garbage out and transform my car back into normal, but it gets messy. This past weekend I drove over 1400 miles to Virginia for the Run for the Dream series. It was a long drive and I know I sound like a broken record, but I am looking forward to not having garbage in the front seat. It would be nice to have someone in the front. I think it would be even more nice to have a good looking man in the front seat ha ha ha …..

I am excited to have logged over 500 miles already since March and I am upping my mileage for marathon training. I have issues because I have Lilly a lot and I cannot jog all of the time with her. It is not fair to her and the weather is so unpredictable!!!

What do you think? I have a race in Philadelphia on Saturday (A German Festival to follow )called the “1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon” and “The New Paltz Challenge” in New York on Sunday. If you were me and you were going to be picking up your nice, new, shiny bike, would you skip one of your races? If so, which?

3 thoughts on “National Running “Addict” Day”

  1. Heeey!!!! Wow, you have a busy schedule this weekend, too!! You are truly amazing and you look fabulous in that picture!!! You’ve logged some great mileage (both running and swimming), soooo in summary, HAPPY NATIONAL RUNNING DAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

