Catamount Half Marathon #14/46

I just got up this morning and realized I never did my race review.  I think I finally cooled down from the day.  It is still super hot, but I am feeling a little more alive.  The truth is, it was a great race even though it was hot.

3CRaceproductions.com does a race series in New England.  Last year I did the Freeport Half MArathon and met my parents for the weekend.  That was interesting.  Lilly barfed halfway through the trip and my debit card stopped working. That was wonderful.  I was glad that I had cash on me.  Thank goodness!!!!!!!  So I ran that weekend and I was second in my age group.  I do not know if I won anything but oh well.
 

 

On June 29, I participated in the Catamount Half Marathon in Vermont. 
catamount shirt

This took place in Brattleboro and I had a great drive.  I saw a moose in Vermont on Route 7. 
moosy

It was a baby moose and I was not going to wait around for the mama moose.

 

When I arrived in Brattleboro, it was about 6 in the evening.  I finally got my hair cut for the first time in a year.
 catamounthaircatamounthair2
I felt a lot better with the hair gone but I hope I made the right choice.  I stayed at the Colonial Motel, which was really nice.  There was an indoor pool and spa.  I also could eat dinner there at the Tavern.  This was nice because I am always tired when I drive.  I get a little lonely so I was looking for a welcoming atmosphere.  My room was 85$ for the night, which was a great deal.  I was going to stay someplace else, but it was only about ten dollars cheaper and farther away.
 

 

I sat down to dinner and ordered Mushroom Ravioli. 

I am not sure it was Mushroom Ravioli…
catamountdinner3
I think I ended up with more of a soup but I forgot the name of it…it was amazing though!!!!!!  I thought the mushrooms were amazing and the noodles were great too.  I also had warm bread and it was delicious. 
catamountdinner2
I had some cooked vegetables and a flourless chocolate torte for dessert. catamountdinner

I know a lot of people ask what I eat before a race.  It was a little expensive but well worth the money.  If I had stopped on the thruway it would have cost just as much and been three times worse for me.  For breakfast, I at a wild berry muffin and a bagel I grabbed on the way.

 

I went to the Retreat in Brattleboro, which was where the race packet pick up was.
  catamountbib

I am so silly.  I always get there way too early.  I was there at 7:30 and the race started at 9:00…I picked up my shirt and my number and sat in my car.  My friend Cynthia showed up and she did the early start for the half marathon at 8:00.  Then Andrea showed  up and started at 8:30.  I started at 9:00 and it was 75 out and it felt like 100 degrees!!!!!!!!! 
catagroup
The course was really nice but I had trouble with the uneven road.  When you are running on the side of the road but you want to stay to the right, it is like running on two different levels.  There were six water stops and markings all along the course.  They had to change the course because the police did not want us to cross the route 30 highway.  This was a wise choice because it made the course really simple to follow and I did not feel unsafe.  There were some beautiful bridges we got to go through and I really enjoyed the dirt part of the course.  I keep saying I want to get into more trail running and I keep finding half marathons that end up on trails.
 trailsssss
I like it.  I want to keep racing and this was a great course.  I would totally recommend it and I like the series.
 

 

I thought I was going to die on the uphill but I made it.
lakecata 

I forgot to mention right before mile three it turned into a strip show because I had to stop and take off my shoes. 
bridge
I took my socks and my compression sleeves off because I was way too hot!!!!!  I felt a lot better when I had just bare legs.  Then I had to work hard at getting some of the lost time back.  I figure I lost about two minutes. 
catamountcourse1

catamountcourse2

catamountcourse3<a

I won a nice pint glass that I will be giving to my cousin for her birthday.  I finished in 1:47.  I think that the clock was different because we had to wait for some girls in the porta johns ha ha.

 

After I got back to New York, I stopped in Rome and tried out some roval wheels size 40.  They were pretty sweet but I am no used to using them on the downhill.
  butt
I hope that I can try them out again so I can decide if I want them or not.  I am not sure and I want to try them again with company so I can see.  I also would not mind a mountain bike but I am not rich.  I like cyclo cross too….we will see…..
.

deltaride2

href=”https://atwinthing33.files.wordpress.com/2014/07/deltaride.jpg”&gt;deltaride

I tried out my new oiselle clothes this weekend. I really like the flyte shorts though they did not make me as fast as Kara Goucher. I also had the nice half top and I realllllllly liked it! I can’t wait to run in them again. I need to buy more. It was comfortable and I think it helped make it a lot less hot while I was running. When I finished it was more than 80 degrees. I drank three bottles of water and sat on the ground. I have trouble walking with my right foot because of the uneven pavement. I think I will survive. I am supposed to do some speed drills tonight. I got in touch with a good runner and was welcomed to a running group that meets Tuesday nights on a track. I need all the help I can get. I think I am a little disappointed that I did not go under 1:45 but I am hoping (hint hint) that my new coach will help me get there.
catamountagegroup
I need 3:30 to Boston Qualify. HELP!!!!!
catamountoiselle

He probably won’t even read this.

3 thoughts on “Catamount Half Marathon #14/46”

Leave a Reply

