Rock The Canyon! PA Grand Canyon Series

Reach for your dreams and never look back!!!!!

I have been rather discouraged lately because I found out I have a small tear in my meniscus and a bruised bone…Needless to say, my knee hates me right now. I did not know what to do so I have been taking it easy and my doctor said I could run but I should take it easy. I had this race series I had been training for. It was Rock the CAnyon, which is located in Wellsboro, PA. Everyone seems to be out of town for the Lake Placid Ironman and I wanted to do something challenging because I do not think I could ever swim 2.4 miles due to my hydrophobia.

pa3
But look at it here!!!! It is breathtaking.

This small town has so much to offer. It is an old town and it was like going back in time. movie
The movie theatre looked so old fashioned and there were even lamp posts on the streets.

italI ate at the Italian restaurant my first night and it was great. I asked for a table and some runners let me eat with them. I met some girls from a different town in Pennsylvania and one girl was doing the full and one was doing the half. They were camping and sounded like they were having a great time.

carThere was also an antique car show…Like I said, it was an old fashioned town. The Penn Wells hotel was supposedly really nice. I didn’t stay there but my new friends liked it…though the one girl I met from Skaneateles said her kids were scared because it looked like the halls from the movie “The Shining.”
pennw

The half marathon was well organized. I got on the first bus at 4:15 because I was nervous about being on time. I met seven other people. One girl had slept in a van at the hospital. I felt bad. It was dark out and we had a great time. The race started at 7 and we were off. I was third female and it was cold so I had to stop and take my bib off and put it on my half top. I should have known better but it was really cold. So I ended up slowing down and taking my time. I finished in 1:58….I wanted to be under two hours and not hurt my knee. I succeeded.

After the race, we were given nice medals and had to take the shuttle bus down the mountain. One guy wanted to run but that is just nuts!!!!!! I went back to the hotel and laid in the hot tub for a while. I went to lunch at the bagel shop, where I met a nice lady named Susan from Arizona. She lived in town and was all alone so I asked if she wanted to have lunch. The bagel shop was amazing and had the most amazing coffee…I loved it there and would love to go back.

After lunch I went to the grocery store and ran into another runner from Pittsburgh and was invited to dinner with a bunch of runners. He was nice and we were mostly running the full the next day. We went to the Wellsboro Inn. At this point I felt like I was eating my way through the town but it was all very delicious.

I went to bed and got up at 4 for the next race. I was on the second bus this time. I met a girl named Anna and her mother. It was her first marathon and her mom had run the half. Anna had never ran a marathon, yet she had ran a 50 miler…I found this amazing. Most of the people I talked to were ultra runners so I was excited and Pennsylvania has a lot of ultras!!!!!

So I rocked the canyon even though I hated life at mile three. I relaxed and took it easy. My knee is okay. I am sore but not really in the knee…it feels the same which means I was smart, though I am sure I would have been smarter not to run. I finished in 4:29…It was nice to see so many nice people and volunteers. This was a well organized race and I liked the runner’s packet. It is a beautiful course and definitely hilly. I like the hills though it was tiring after yesterday.

If you are into Ultras, I think you should try out this series!!!!!
Oh and here is the nice finisher bling:
pa

I would like to take Lilly here to see the canyon. I also have to warn you that there is no GPS signal. I got lost on the back roads and managed to find the state of NY…but had to figure out how to get to Ithaca…it was not easy and there were a lot of Amish children on the way….oh and this was half number 49/17 so one more to go and I am asking the director for bib 50…and marathon number 3 (all have been hilly and in PA)

7 thoughts on “Rock The Canyon! PA Grand Canyon Series”

  1. I love Wellsboro! You should definitely consider Green Monster in October. I did it last year and I will be there again this year. It’s a really fun race, and the forest is beautiful in the fall.
    Great job this weekend!

      1. It’s a 25k or a 50k. I’m coming off a stress fracture so I’m sticking to the 25k this year. It was probably one of my favorite races EVER!

      1. Awww!!! I’m good!! My summer league swim team is over (for the most part…just have the champs meet practice going on). I’m trying to get myself back on schedule. I’ve been off my normal run/swim schedule for a while now.
        How are you? I hope your knee is feeling better!! XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

