Heart and Sole

“They say a good love is one that sits you down, gives you a drink of water, and pats you on top of the head. But I say a good love is one that casts you into the wind, sets you ablaze, makes you burn through the skies and ignite the night like a phoenix; the kind that cuts you loose like a wildfire and you can’t stop running simply because you keep on burning everything that you touch! I say that’s a good love; one that burns and flies, and you run with it!”
C. JoyBell C.

dream2

Last weekend, I ran a race and thought it would be my last race of the season….I figured that was it…what a good note to end on.  I have done the Delta Lake Half Marathon three times now and I love that race.  There is not much else out there I like better than that race.  It is beautiful going around the lake though, I do have a lot of memories from it and it is time to move on.  Do you believe in signs? I did not think I did either, but sometimes I feel like it is true…that things happen and they happen for a reason.  I was all set to be done with it!!!!  I see all these people running and I am extremely jealous.  I don’t think people get it.  I must drive people nuts with my passion for running.  Running and Lilly, it feels like that is my life.  I love to bike too, but it doesn’t make me feel as amazing as running yet…maybe there is hope….but running makes my day.

dream1

So a sign?  I believe things happen for a reason.  I have had some knee trouble so I have had to defer a lot of races.  I feel like I already have a race season next year because of it.  It is sad at how many misses I have given up.  Well, the Wineglass Marathon is next weekend and that was supposed to be my big fat BQ!!!!  “Was supposed to be….”  I cannot run a full marathon.  It was already too late to defer….so I looked at other options.  I have a chance to claim the state of New Hampshire and run the Bristol Half Marathon on Saturday, October 4, 2014.  I was all excited.  I wanted to sign up.

dream3

I took Lilly apple picking today to get my mind off of running and to try to live life without running. It didn’t work.  The whole time I was out with Lilly, all I could think about were races today and all the people who ran the Ragnar Relay.  I want to be out there getting lost on the hills.  I want to be that girl who runs fast and finishes strong.

dream4

I do not want to be a quitter.  I feel like this coming week I have been given a sign that my season isn’t over…you might be wonder what that was.  I know there is this thing going on in New York where you get a refund for $350.00 from the state and I received it.  I guess that isn’t a huge sign, but then I was told there is still hope that I can do a half marathon on Sunday instead of a full marathon.

dream5

So what do I do?  I am faced with this dilemma.  Do I not race and hope that my knee heals, though it hasn’t?  I am supposed to go to the Doctor’s office tomorrow for my knee but is one weekend going to make that much of a difference?  Will I sit around and mope all weekend and end up running anyways?  Or will I take the road unknown and go out and live every single second to the fullest?  I do not want to stop running and I am sure if I were like most people who have distractions or people to spend their free time with, I would be okay with not running…but I do not have that…I have been really happy lately and I do not want that feeling to go away.  I am a Oiselle now and I feel this sense of pride and I want to keep running and representing Oiselle.  I would love to be part of a team locally…I do run with the Y runners…sometimes…well not very often…I think I have been three times.  I would love to do a Ragnar…

“The one who follows the crowd will usually get no further than the crowd. The one who walks alone, is likely to find himself in places no one has ever been.” ~ Albert Einstein

Lately, I feel like Einstein is right.  Sometimes I think I try too hard to fit in when I am not meant to fit in.  I think I sometimes have this strong determination and sense of independence.  Sure, I want to be loved!  Who doesn’t?  But maybe I was born to stand out!  It only took me 34 years to accept that ha ha.

What to do…….New Hampshire, Wineglass……no run…………

Find someplace beautiful and get lost………………………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

