Oh The Places To Go…

“We must take adventures to know where we truly belong…”
passport

I have been running since I was 26 years old…It hasn’t been that long, but I cannot remember what it was like not to run. I do not know why I did not take it seriously when I was younger.

I have been divorced for two years now and I often think about what I used to do before I was married. Everyone keeps asking why I haven’t changed my name back and I say, “I haven’t changed my name because my passport does not expire until 2017.”

Well, I need to stop talking about it and actually do something. Things happen in life for a reason and I know I cannot possibly understand why most of the time. I guess the motto is: “Shit happens.” I have been focusing on Lilly and running and I finally realize that I just need to breathe and live…I need to practice what I preach…I have an amazing job and a gift with languages. I think most people cannot say that they can speak more than two languages…am I fluent in all five of them? Heck no!!!! Can I get by in them? Yes, four of them…my Italian will only get me some smiles and some kind words for being polite…as I express that I am sorry for being late and ask where the bathroom is….I know more than that…

I remember when it first happened…I was in the elevnth grade in a small town and there was going to be a trip to Ireland…I had to go sooo bad so I started saving and working. I went to Ireland. My first plane ride was to Ireland!!!! I fell in love with the idea of getting out of Mexico, NY (New Haven to be specific), and seeing the world. My small town wasn’t the most friendliest to me…

When I was in college, I went to Europe to study French my junior year…It was a week after 9/11 and was really scary. I don’t think most people realize it, but I have traveled quite a bit alone…I must confess I want to fall completely in love with someone and travel everywhere…I was just talking at work to a teacher who is getting married about going to Iceland. I loveeeeeee Iceland and it is such an amazing place to go!!!!!

So you may ask, where have I been?

1. Canada (all over Canada…not just right over the border…New Brunswick, Quebec, Montreal, Ontario…
2. Ireland (one time)- Cork, Dublin, Killarney, Shannon….
3. France (Lived in the Loire Valley) Paris, Bloss, Chinon…everywhere
4. England (four times) Wales, Isle of Wight…pretty much all of England
5. Poland (Auschwitz and Katowice)
6. Germany (Berlin)
7. Denmark (Copenhagen)
8. Iceland (Reykjavik)
9. Ecuador (one month as a volunteer in Quito)
10. Mexico (Three weeks as a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity) Mexico City, Tacuba.
11. Columbia (Bogota)
12. Dominican Republic (2 times) Puerto Plata
13. Italy (Naples, Florence, Rome)

Bahamas…St. John, St. Thomas…doesn’t really count ha but worth mentioning…

So this year since I have a lot of time to not run due to my knee…and my MRI is on November 3, I am thinking about taking an adventure…I cannot run much and may need surgery. I always thought I would see the world. Next year, I want to run the original Marathon in Athens, Greece…it is in November. I also want to see some new places…my eyes are set on a few…but if you have any suggestions, I would love to hear…thanksssss and happy adventures!

So my goal is to say good bye to my married name and take one last adventure. When I get home, I want to celebrate returning back to my maiden name…Phelps!!!!!!!!! I cannot wait to get lost and find myself…that once adventurous girl who wasn’t afraid to see the world alone 🙂 watch out because here I come!

3 thoughts on “Oh The Places To Go…”

Leave a Reply

