Winter Warrior Half Marathon…#59

“It hurts up to a point and then you forget about it.”

This was by far the coldest race I have ever done. It was -3 degrees without factoring the windchill…but I’m glad I went and I am glad my friend Krista did too! It was at 4 so it was a nice excuse to sleep in!image image

I hated thinking about all of my friends who had already finished their long runs for the day!  I was also bummed because I never go out animaged it was the Y runner party that day.

So there it goes…I froze. My face was so cold I think the f bomb went off in my mind about ten times! I was okay because I had on underarmor and my Leslie Moto tights from oiselle! They are so comfortable! I’m mad looking back! I had a great race but I took it too easy in the beginning! It cost me some time and I pushed and just couldn’t make up for it!

image

I think the course was great! It was 5 loops around the college! I liked knowing what to expect and the hill was not bad! There was a water stop and I think I didn’t use it. It was a little scary when it was dark. My vision was really blurry. I do not know what happened but I could only see lights…nothing was clear. I was scared. I had eye surgery a few years ago. Luckily, my sight came back after the race but my friends said my eyes were really red and bloodshot!  The medal was sweet and I liked the hats we received!

You could get a drink and a sandwich after! This was only $50 and I thought it was well worth the cost! I even found out I placed third in my age group and won a coffee cup! My time was 1:47 and I was happy with that…I was not looking for a pr because it was so cold!!!!

I am glad I made it to the running party by 8:30, even though it started at 6:30. I don’t go out much like I said. I was nervous because I don’t know a lot of people and I’m self conscious. I try hard to listen and be the best person I can be. Between running, work, and Lilly, I don’t have a lot of time so I confess I don’t have many friends. I’m okay with that but it gets a little lonely!

it was nice to meet up with fellow flock member- Victoria!  She was so nice and I hope to run into her again!

So what is next? I’m running the Martha’s Vineyard 20 miler on February 14th…it sounds amazing and I just want to get away. I don’t mind being single but I’ve been single for almost a year and a half and I have just not had a fair shot at dating. I’m a nice girl and I’m pretty independent…so instead of sitting around feeling sorry for myself I need to get out and do what I love…run!

I am a little nervous. This is the year I want to fight for Boston. I’m training hard and I want it bad…but I can’t help but have that lonely feeling…, so what I do is sign up for races.  I signed up for 22 races last year when I felt this way…do I’m trying hard to not feel like this.  I want to go away on vacation.  When I feel like I want to disappear, this is the only thing I know how to do…last year at Christmas well Christmas 2013 when I didn’t have Lilly… I never want to feel like that again.  So If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? I want to disappear and get lost in the world!

2 thoughts on “Winter Warrior Half Marathon…#59”

Leave a Reply

