Things Just Happen – Martha’s Vineyard 20 Miler

“Bad things happen to everyone. It isn’t your experiences that define your life. It’s your responses that make or break you.”

imageimage

Things just happen. I cannot explain it and it seems unfair but it just wasn’t meant to be.  I feel like the Martha’s Vineyard 20 Miler just wasn’t meant to be!  I was so sick for about three weeks. I’ve been running on a bruised rib. Today a kid came up and squeezed me and it feels like my side is on fire.  I have had to take a couple of days off running and I’m just getting back to speed work!!!

I did get a good long run in on Saturday so I was bummed. I was excited to escape my job Friday.  I feel absolutely invisible at work even though I love my students to pieces. I don’t mind being invisible but it would be nice to make friends….I do have Danielle…so I have one friend.  Thanks Danielle!!!

I remember opening the email and feeling like I had been dumped by my Valentine’s date. I hate Valentine’s Day. It is the worst. It is a holiday that makes me realize I hate being single sometimes and when I wasn’t it reminded me how much he never tried!!!! Also, my back is hurting today and I don’t like massages from anyone but who I date!!! Anyhow, I wrote the race director. I said I completely understand they had to cancel because the trails were impassable. It makes sense and at least I had not left yet! I said that it still felt like I had been dumped by my valentine hahaha. They wrote me a nice letter! I would love to run next year if I am in the cards.

Things just happen!

So I am stayin here and making the most of my run at Green Lakes Saturday… Even if no one comes and I run alone.   I don’t know how ill escape all of the mushy couples and pretend I’m happy being alone…but things just happen!

I have a lot of great races coming up and I signed up for the 18.12 today.

So I hope to be there next year…but things might happen.  It’s okay!  I think I need to put less pressure on myself. I confess it is hard not to.  After seeing several doctors this year I was told running isn’t good for me.  Running is good for a lot of people but my body can’t take  it as well.  I think that is why I push so hard.  I don’t know how many years I will be able to run.  Things just happen….but I love to run so I hope it lasts forever.

On a good note, I have a whole bunch of new clothes from Oiselle!!!! I love my burgen track attack pants!!! I love my lux feather long sleeve shirt and I cannot wait to try my wazzie wool base layer!!! I love love love my gray head up wings out shirt too!!!! Thanks!!!!!

image

Things just happen! I’m a good person and I will make the most of it! It could always be worse. I do argue I have bad luck but something good happens once in a while!  I just wasn’t ready I guess…no Valentine’s Day race…ill put my bib next to my slow dance dress!

Leave a Reply

