Three Weeks Later

It is almost three weeks since I ran my marathon…I have learned a lot since then. I am glad I was able to complete another marathon, though it was not the time I wanted. Sometimes things happen and we can’t control them, but we can learn from them. I truly appreciate being able to run. I keep thinking about the day I ran my first two miles in a row on a treadmill. I think it is easier to remember that day, rather than the day I completed my first 5k.

I need to appreciate the huge milestones in running. I need to realize I have gone a lot farther than people and be proud of my accomplishments. I truly do hope I get to run the Boston Marathon someday, but maybe this year it just isnt in the cards.

I have had a great deal of trouble getting back into running…I even struggled with making a ten minute mile…but I listened to my body and I just needed rest. I think with marathon training, we put ourselves through so much endurance that we need to stop and just take a break. I am looking forward to some good base runs and long runs, but I was glad to take it easy…

I am feeling a lot better now and I know I will work hard and eventually get my sub 4 marathon on healthy legs.  I have also learned that even though I have to miss some races, life goes on and I can still have a lot of fun.

I have pulled out of:

St. Michael’s Half Marathon, Maryland

Marine Corps Historic Half, Virginia

Pacing the Buffalo Marathon

Run for the Dream Patriot’s Challenge: 8k and Half Marathon in Williamsburg, Virginia…

but I am being smart and I hope I will be more than fine for my upcoming pacing gigs  🙂  since I think pacing is my favorite 🙂

I have had a lot of fun with my students as I wrap up my `12th year of teaching, and I even went to a really nice smores party!!!!!  I am looking forward to being more social now that I am in town for a little while…I think life happens and maybe its a good thing to focus on something other than running….I definitely lack social skills and it will be nice to actually make some friends in the area ..and I will hopefully get to see some out of town friends too!!!!!

and bs good luck to my friend, Melissa Breen, who will be running the buffalo marathon Sunday…. Sorry I can’t run with you !!

Time and patience is the key…happy Friday!!!!!

Leave a Reply

