Summer Daze With Heat and Haze

When you recognize that failing doesn’t make you a failure, you give yourself permission to try all sorts of things” -Lauren Fleshman

imageFarrow

                                                           Tank

runway braimage

     It’s been just about four months since I fell apart in the Providence Marathon. May doesn’t seem that long ago, but only because it was a huge downward spiral from there. I believe things happen for a reason. I think I was so infatuated with qualifying for Boston, it made me lose sight of everything else.

I picked this quote by Lauren Fleshman because it fits me to a t.  I think as soon as I realized I had not failed my marathon, I was able to regain confidence and focus on the next steps. My hip was a big issue during my marathon, along with my knee.  I did everything right. I was on BQ pace for a majority of the race until my hip and knee could not take it. I trained and did my long runs.  I finally realize I did not fail!!!!

image

This is the first week I have been doing base runs for an hour.  It has not been easy, but yesterday felt like a huge milestone. I was doing really well with my every other day base runs but this week I decided to up them.  No more every other days for this girl!  It wasn’t easy and the heat did not help! I had to stop three times Wednesday to stretch my Quads.  I’m going to pt and I’m starting to feel stronger, but my knee and hip still hurt.

Yesterday was the first time in a while I was able to focus on not stopping. I definitely ran slower, but it felt awesome being able to not stop!  I think I just kept racing so much I took it for granted and didn’t really have to work for it anymore.  I remember running two half marathons in the same weekend.  I’d do one and then hop in my car for another race the next day. My times were great and I had a blast.  I lost sight of the work and art that went into running.  I ran so much it really took a toll on my body.

Sometimes I feel sad I am not as fast as I used to be. However, I think there comes a point where you have to focus on the love of a sport.  I promise you I smile. I may have ran slow yesterday, but I enjoyed my run and didn’t want to stop. I haven’t felt that in a while.  I stopped praying to get my speed back and started to be thankful for all that running has given me.  It’s hard for me to understand why people hate running. Hate is such a strong word.  I can’t help but think they are doing it wrong!

On to sunny things!  It’s been so hot this week that I have been doing everything to hydrate and stay active at the same time!  It’s my last week of freedom because I am a teacher! I have a meeting today and hopefully a schedule soon to follow. I teach ESL and love my little second and third graders!  So what helps me run, teach, and attempt to be wonder mom and girlfriend?  I have no idea!  I think my love for coffee is a bonus! I have cut down this summer but I’m sure I’ll be back up to 6 cups. My work hours are 7:35-3:45 everyday except Wednesday. I have to be to work at 7!!!! Ouch!

When I’m out on my run, I get super hot! You have no idea!  I love running in the winter because I do not feel like a tea kettle boiling! As most of you know, I’m a member of Oiselle.  I recently took on a role as “Oiselle Volee Regional Leader for NY.” It sounds nice. I’m not the best leader, but I don’t mind being a running cheerleader!!!!  I’m going to arrange some meet ups and I am required to race in Oiselle… Which is not hard to do since I own a zillion things!  My favorites are the Mac roga shorts and the runway bra.  If I attempt to wear a shirt over my bra, it’s usually the farrow tank (which I have in money and gray).  I also enjoy wearing the Verrazano bra and stride shorts.  I know some girls prefer baggy, but I do better with less!

I’m meeting up with fellow regional leader, Victoria.  We are both “benched” from racing so we are going to be running the Rochester verses Buffalo Metro 10! I haven’t ran more than 7 miles in forever, but this will be a step in the right direction.  I’m not paying attention to the clock.  If life is all about having fun and accomplishing goals, my goal tomorrow is to finish after smiling for 10 miles.  I’ll worry about racing another day.  As a Oiselle, it’s about being a team!

What races do you have coming up? Do you own any oiselle clothes and if so, what are some of your favorites?  When is your

next race?

One thought on “Summer Daze With Heat and Haze”

  1. Ugh. I feel your pain. I had a not-as-planned marathon earlier this year. You’re doing everything to preserve your run love and rocking it. Good luck with the new school year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

