Moose Pond Half Marathon #76

“It’s hills …get over them!”

  
I guess I should have looked at the elevation map!!!
However, I wasn’t worried.  Hills are great because they help you get faster and I was the 2:15 pacer for beast pacing šŸ™‚
   
    
     

  
I did not check the elevation until after the race but The Moose Pond Half Marathon took place at Shawnee Peak so I guess that should have been my first clue!
This is in Maine in case you were not sure, though I saw 0 moose!  I have seen them but not in a year or so!  I saw a small moose on 95 going towards Bangor!  Luckily it did not meet my car!

Here is the elevation map:

   
   
Needless to say, the second half was a little less work!
I liked the shirt!  The race was 50$ for late registry and you got a free 13.1 sticker!  You also receive a cool turtle medal !

  
I loved the medal!  This is my first turtle medal and my first wooden medal!

I was happy to run with my cousin for a little while and then she took off like a rocket!  

  

  

   

 
She said she was not ready but she did awesome!

Her boyfriend didn’t run but I was thankful he drove and he brought us hot chocolate and sandwiches!

Andrew was talked into coming too!  He won the half in 1:17:59!

   
   
He makes it look so easy!

He got some nice awards! They gave him a season pass to Shawnee Peak and a handmade box!

   
   
I have been pretty sick but I was able to pull off a 2:14:22!  I am glad I helped people finish in their goal times!  

I would pace this race again!  It was nice to visit my cousin and do a race!  We went to brunch after and spent the night!  I really like running in Maine!  It’s beautiful there.
What is next?  I’m pacing the Wolf Hollow Half Marathon next weekend but I hope I feel better by then!  I should be alright but it’s been about two weeks of non stop feeling like garbage!  I had strep and then who knows what!  I am starting a new teaching job November 21, so I think people figure I’m vacationing…. Not the case!  
As for running…. This is my last half of the year coming up…. I’ll be doing The Sea Turtle Half in Alabama for a small honeymoon!  That is I’m February!  

Then I’m doing the Lakeffect Half in February with Rachel! 

March- Celebrate Life

Syracuse Half

Leave a Reply

